clearing out older projects this week. there was  an old green sweater in the closet–one I never was quite happy with. the yarn pilled every time I wore it. It was a nice design but the cheap yarn was a mistake so I frogged.

and finally the old sweater was just a memory.

…….still it can be hard to let go completely

so I decided to add it to a project that I have been sketching out in my head for awhile. I don’t know if it will work but at least if I knit it I can get it out of my head.

next I dug out a pair of mittens that have been sitting unfinished since last year. I like this design and originally started these for my husband but they were a little on the snug side so I started over again in another yarn and thought I would finish these for myself later.  Now a year later they are finally off the needles. they are thick and warm with nice long cuffs but I don’t know if I will keep them for myself.

next up is a pair of miter mittens from EZ knitter’s almanac. Its been years since I knit a pair of these. I love the pattern. I made these extra long also. The yarn is special to me — my daughter spun this yarn. It is the first yarn she ever spun so it is a little uneven. She wasn’t sure what kind of wool this was and she didn’t care much for the colors of the batt and hated the way the colors muddled once spun. But I think the end result is lovely. the wool softened up quite a bit when I washed them. I knit them extra large so I might even felt them the next time I have to do wash.  these aren’t fashionable mittens they are  working mittens the kind you wear when you are going to be shoveling the walk or walking on the ice in febuary ….they don’t need to be pretty – just warm.

I finished another fox scarf now I just need to sew in all the ends

there is a hat to match but it needs a pair of eyes.

four watchman caps are ready to be mailed to a charity group I belong to.

I also uncovered this sad excuse for a granny square blanket. and decided that maybe I should finish it and put it out of its misery. It was hidden in the bottom of the closet. I was trying to teach myself to crochet when I started this. the stitches are all wobbly and uneven.  I used leftover yarn and my combinations are anything but wonderful. I really don’t think I have a knack with color.  And its been so long since I worked on it that I will have to look up directions to figure out how to do it again. I have 10 squares started but not added to the blanket so I think I will add those and then start a plain border around it to make it a little larger. Then if I just plain hate how it looks I will throw it in the washer and felt it and use it for a rug by my side of the bed. It doesn’t have to be pretty just needs to keep my feet warm when I get out of bed.and speaking of fugglaly things ……this whatch-a-m-call it  keeps growing nicely.

Its been a busy week

4 Comments

  1. Samantha said,

    November 27, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    I see a copy of Fantastic Mr Fox on your table. That was one of my favourite Roald Dahl books as a child!

    • whatzitknitz said,

      November 28, 2012 at 12:10 am

      I love Roald Dahl!! I just picked up a copy of this book at the bookstore last week. Its been ages since I read it. I wanted to find some children books with fox in them to go with my toys. I had a fun afternoon reading Fantastic Mr Fox again.

  2. peg said,

    November 28, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    Hello big sister! Catching up with reading after Mexico and this is inspiring me to finish projects! Or at least honestly inventory them. I love the idea of a bedside crocheted rug . . .

    • whatzitknitz said,

      November 28, 2012 at 7:52 pm

      well I tried to honestly inventory what I wanted to finish but I may have left out a sweater I started and was over halfway done with when I abandoned it to knit on something else. and there is a pair of socks that are 3/4 finished Even the heel is turned so why haven’t I finished the foot???? so there are other projects lurking in boxes under the bed but little by little I will get organized and finish them up..


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

