Garam Masala Cookies

I was mailing a package last  week to my daughter and her husband in Tennessee to thank them for the help they gave me writing a pdf file for a knitting pattern I wrote.

I like to send them the goodies that they can’t get down there. Like Wisconsin CHEESE and Mom’s cookies. And when I mail a package I like to share a few with the postmaster.  Now apparently the cookies were enjoyed because I was asked to share the recipe. And now that I have a blog I can share it here.

this is a cookie that I have improvised on a lot over the years. and when my children were little I think we called them kitchen sink cookies because everything but the kitchen sink are in these cookies. As a mom when I bake cookies I like to put some extras in so we can call them healthy and in these I added milk powder. Sometimes I add flax or soy flour too.

I worked for a little while for Penzey Spice and while working there I got a jar of Garam Masala. Now this isn’t something that I had every cooked with and  I didn’t know what to do with it. But the smell of the spice reminded me of spice cookies and it turns out it is the perfect flavoring for these oatmeal cookies.

Garam Masala Cookies

1 1/2 cups of butter

1 cup brown sugar & 1/2 cup of white sugar

1/2 cup of milk powder

1 large egg

2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp of salt  &  1/2 tsp of baking soda

2 tsp of garam masala

1 1/2 cups of flour

1 1/2 cups old fashioned oatmeal

1 cup walnuts chopped

1 cup cranberries(or dates or raisins)

beat together butter and sugar and powdered milk.  add egg and vanilla beat till fluffy. add spice, salt and b. soda and flour – mix well. stir in oatmeal ,walnuts and cranberries. form 1 1/2″ balls with a spoon place on cookie sheet flatten slightly. bake for about 10 min in a preheated 375* oven. take out when golden brown around the edges.

if I have orange oil I substitute it for the vanilla.

hope you enjoy these cookies as much as we do. I don’t have a picture of the cookies so instead here is a picture of the pocket pal I knit last nite.

a mini version of the pocket pal that I knit for the toy drive my LYS is hosting.

1 Comment

  1. November 4, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    these cookies are delicious! garam masala adds some yumminess beyond what just cinnamon and nutmeg alone can do.
    and that mini sock monkey is so adorable!


Leave a Reply

