Sand hill cranes

We have been watching these sandhill cranes  for the last week and a half. They are in a field we  past on our morning walk with our dog. They have been dancing and strutting their stuff. I really am not sure why they are dancing that is usually a spring time thing when they are mating. However this morning Marty suggested maybe they are dancing around and scaring up bugs and stuff to eat.

These birds remind me of the birds in the blanket I am test knitting called  ON THE SHORE  for Jana. check out her designs here http://justblocked.blogspot.com/ . Jana’s designs are incredible. This design is based on an Escher print. There are fish and ducks circled by turtles. The blanket will have several ‘hexagons’ sewn together that will be steeked and a border added on the edge.isn’t it gorgeous! I love the circle of bobble-ly eyes! Thanks Jana for lending me some pictures to show.

Believe or not  these creatures are made of simple stitches- ribbing and garter for wings and fins, moss stitch for scales on the fish, and slip stitch like you would use on the heel of a sock for the turtle. Jana’s imaginative use of increases and decreases and short rows shape the animals. The charts are awesome  and easy to follow. Jana also made this pattern into a pillow which is great because I think a lot of people love her blankets but don’t have the time to do a large project. These guys almost seem alive and ready to jump off the needles as I bind off the last stitch as I work on my blanket. Even the sewing (which I know lots of knitters hate) is fun because the pieces fit together like  a jigsaw puzzle. Here is what I have finished so far.
this is my winter project and will keep me from having cabin fever when the snow drifts prevent me from going outside. The yarn in this project is all hand dyed using flowers from my garden and weeds and what not that I have collect from the ditches on my walks. The orange turtles are dyed with Cosmos flowers that I grow in my garden. The blue fish are indigo. And some my cranes are golden rod over dyed with walnut husks. Some are wild grape leaves over dyed with walnut.

2 Comments

  1. November 5, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    This is really coming along beautifully! I can’t wait to see how the yellow dyed yarn you sent me, looks after I indigo dye it for you! Should add some lovely bright greens to the mix. What a fun looking pattern!

  2. janukke said,

    November 7, 2011 at 10:06 am

    Aw, Mary Jo, your animals look awesome! I love your home-dyed yarn. Thank you so much for test knitting. It´s always fun to work with you.

    And those cranes are wonderful. :o)

    It is so cool that you started a blog. I will for sure stop by often.


Leave a Reply

