11-11-11

Special numbers, special day. Happy Birthday Mom.

My Mom taught me to knit when I was 7 or 8 years old. She sat me down with my older sister Kathy and showed us how to cast on with a long tail and then to knit and purl. I remember her telling me she learned this all on her own, her mom was not a knitter. She knit sweaters and mittens and hats for all of us. Which is no small feat because there are 8 of us. And you know a child needs more than one set of mittens when they are busy making snow forts and having snowball battles.

I remember loving how her needles would make a satisfying click with each stitch and I struggled to make my needles do the same. Eventually her perseverance    won out and my lopsided, left-handed, wrong way up stitches started to resemble her perfectly straight in a row knitting. I was elated and could now churn out a scarf or a hat. I was delighted that I could take string and make something I could wear.

My Mom also made our clothes and often my sister and I had matching outfits to wear to church. Scraps were made into blankets and each of us had quilts on our beds. When my children were little I wondered how my Mom found time to do it all. I had trouble keeping up with 2 kids, 8 I couldn’t imagine.

Happy birthday Mom.

1 Comment

  1. Peg said,

    November 14, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    Mom would like this post!


Leave a Reply

