trifecta gingersnaps

This is a family favorite and I don’t think I am bragging when I say that it is the best gingersnap you have ever tasted.
I tend to over due when I like something and I found a way to put ginger in these cookies in 3 different forms. I use regular ground ginger like most people do in their gingersnaps and then I bump it up and grate fresh ginger into the cookies. Except now I have found a great product that means I don’t have to grate 1 TBS of ginger I use a product called ginger juice   http://www.gingerpeople.com/ginger-juice.html . I also use candied ginger – so these cookies are the…

Trifecta of Gingersnaps!

1/2 cup butter room temperature

1 cup each brown sugar & white sugar

1/2 cup powdered milk

1/3 cup molasses

2 large eggs

1 TBS of grated fresh ginger or 1 1/2 tsp ginger juice

1 tsp cinnamon, ground ginger & salt

1/2 tsp cloves

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

2 3/4 cups flour

1/2 cup candied ginger

1 cup large crystal natural sugar mixed with 1 tsp of cinnamon for rolling cookies in

cream butter. add white & brown sugar and milk powder and molasses. beat until well blended then add eggs. next add the spices b. soda and flour. mix well. and candied ginger at the very end. chill for 1 hour. using spoon form walnut sized balls and roll in sugar  & cinnamon. place on a cookie sheet and flatten with your hand. bake for 12 min in a 300* oven. cool on a wire rack..

I always use silpat so I don’t need to grease my cookie sheets but you could use parchment paper also.

I love candied ginger from Penzeys. the chunks are nice and small and just so tasty.

you may have noticed in my other cookie recipes I add dry milk powder  to my cookies – I figure that I can use the calcium and then the cookies are also healthy so no guilt involved with eating a couple.

and the last suggestion is when you take the cookies out of the oven as you set them on the table to cool whack the pan down. Let it make a good thump and everyone in the room will look at you thinking ‘whats a matter is he/she mad at me?’  This is an important step  it not only allows you to release some pent up aggression watch as you do it the cookies flatten out and are perfect. A little closer look….see that twack on the table really does a good job the craters and crinkles in the cookies are perfect. And it is really worth it to get the large crystal sugar for these gingersnaps it really adds a nice sparkle.

3 Comments

  1. janukke said,

    November 15, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    Ah those cookies look delicious! I absolutely have to try that recipe. 🙂 Family traditionals are the best.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. November 19, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    These are our favorites!
    Oh wait a minute, there’s those wheat chocolate chip, the coconut crack cookies, garahm masala oatmeal…
    So hard to chose from such cookie goodness.
    I had no idea about the wacking trick, i’ll have to try it next time!

  3. November 30, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    […] you are a fan of spice cookies check out my TRIFECTA GINGERSNAPS for another tasty […]


Leave a Reply

