Giving Thanks

there is lots going on-

I am still test knitting Jana’s blanket.I blocked some of my ducks and couldn’t resist posing them in a V formation like the geese that I see migrating now.

I sent my notes for swatch owl to my daughter Alice and she is busy making them into a pdf.
This pattern evolved from my kitty kat pattern and adds a few skills but is still an easy pattern to knit. I like the 2 swatches I chose to knit for this pattern but you can choose any pattern you would like to try out. On the front is a lace pattern from a pair of socks that Anne Hanson designed and I want to make after X-mas. The socks are in Ann Budd’s book, Sock Knitting Master Class.

On the back is a real cool pattern called dragon skin from  Barbara Walkers 2nd Treasury of Knitting Patterns.I have been eyeing this pattern for a while and it is perfect on the back of an owl I think.

Last of all I have been knitting Billy, he is a little bashful at the moment. But I did manage to finish a rough draft of the pattern this afternoon.

But you may have noticed my heading for this entry was giving thanks and you may figure by all that I listed here that I really didn’t have time to cook a turkey and the trimmings today. And you are right–there was no turkey to be had at our house on Okauchee Lake. But don’t feel bad for us because we had a smorgasbord of treats. And we watched the Packers beat the Lions. And for that I am thankful. We had plenty of food and a great game to watch. I knit to my hearts content and cheered at all the great plays. There is very little clean up to do. Meva the wonder dog had 2 walks. Everyone had a great day!

Ps I am also thankful for my wonderful children and husband.

2 Comments

  1. janukke said,

    November 26, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    OMG, I so love your cute pocket pals! That pattern IS perfect for the back of an owl.

    I am glad you´ve had a great day!

    Jana :o)

    • whatzitknitz said,

      November 26, 2011 at 3:33 pm

      I have been wanting to try the dragon skin pattern for a while now and I love the way it came out on the owl.


Leave a Reply

