On The Shore

When I first laid eyes on the Tiling Fish last winter I knew I had to knit it. http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/tiling-fish

I wrote Jana right away and she included me in in the group of test knitters.  It was the ideal winter project for me, as the snow piled up outside fish were swimming off my knitting needles. As soon as I had 6 fish completed I would eagerly sew them together. Before the ice on the lake melted I completed my blanket. This blanket gets a lot of use and everyone who sees it remarks that it must have been really hard to knit. But that is what is so great- it is simple basic stitches put together in a novel way and makes me look way more talented than I am.

Imagine my delight when I heard that Jana has designed a second blanket based on MC Eschers prints. Isn’t it stunning. It will chase away cabin fever this winter and wrap me in warm wool by spring time. On the Shore  http://justblocked.blogspot.com/2011/11/on-shore-pattern.htmlThe colors are stunning and the animals are beautiful. And the stitches Jana picked out to form the features of each of the creatures are so clever.I know some knitters out there are thinking “yes it is beautiful but it looks so hard and I hate sewing”. But that is the real genius of this beautiful blanket. The stitches are all very easy basic stitches. The fins on the fish are garter stitch and the scales moss stitch. Ribbing on the wings and tail of the bird. Slipped stitch that some knitters use in the heel of socks are used for the turtle shell. The shapes are created with increases and decreases and short rows.Don’t even get me started about the bobbles I love the bobble-y eyes! The charts are extremely well written and easy to follow and Jana includes a tutorial section with step by step pictures to follow.

What is it about sewing that drives knitters crazy? I am not sure- I do know that I love a top down raglan sweater with no seams to finish. And all my hats and mittens are knit in the round ready to use as soon as I bind off the last stitch. I even will convert a pattern I like and knit it in the round to avoid sewing.

But I really like sewing together my animals. They fit together so nicely like jig-saw puzzle pieces. And it is exciting to see the pattern grow from one hexigon to several and see different patterns emerge from the swirls of creatures. As a bonus Jana has included patterns for pillows. Perfect if you want to knit this but just don’t have the time for a blanketCheck out the pattern on Jana’s blog http://justblocked.blogspot.com/2011/11/on-shore-pattern.html  or go to ravelry there is a group started to knit this project  http://www.ravelry.com/discuss/woolly-thoughts/1919026/1-25#reply_form

I am so happy – I have my winter project started, now I just need a little snow!

2 Comments

  1. janukke said,

    November 26, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    Hi Mary Jo,

    thank you so much for helping me out with this pattern once again! I cannot wait to see your finished blanket. The colours you chose are just stunning.

    Have fun knitting!

    Jana

    • whatzitknitz said,

      November 26, 2011 at 3:32 pm

      Hi Jana, thanks again for letting me test for you. I finished a fish tomorrow and today I want to cast on a turtle.


Leave a Reply

