A Parliament of Owls

After along bit of writing and a bit of editing magic on the part of my computer wise daughter than a bit more refining and then testing and then……well you get the picture I am getting ready to release a pattern this weekend. It is the Swatch Owl –if you know me from Ravelry or from Knitch in Delefield then you have probable seen my owl pocket pal. Mr Owl is a variation of my first pattern and builds on the skills needed to complete a cat. You need to be able to knit and purl and pick up stitches. There are 3 charts in the pattern for doing a lace pocket and a textured back and for forming the wings there is a chart and also directions in the written form. The Owl takes about 5 hours for me to knit and I am not a fast knitter. When I first knit my owl I made him a larger toy and then because the shrunk mini pocket pals are so cute I knit a smaller version. By the way a baby owl is an owlet. While knitting the mini version I decided with a few changes I could make this into a little pouch for my daughter phone. So I rewrote the pattern. Then Alice said if I made the full size owl but sewed it into a pouch it would be perfect for her kindle. So yes I knit a kindle pouch too. I went to the beading department at my local Ben Franklins and found all kinds of neat fasteners and clips to use for a pouch owl.  I keep coming up with new ideas for my owl. My Mom is getting a mini owl pouch for X-mas that has a swivel hook so she can attach it to her project bag. She can put a couple of needles in the felt that I sewed under the beak and keep stitch markers and a tape measure in the pockets. And don’t worry I am not spoiling her surprise because she doesn’t have a computer to read this. You may have noticed the odd bird in my picture–I decided to knit one in black because I am rather fond of ravens too. I think you could change this to other birds if you like. Maybe black with a white bill for a coot. Or blue with a peachy colored breast for a blue bird. You get the idea- you could knit a spring time robin if you like by changing up the colors.

I have knit this owl about 10 times in the last month and love each one as they come off my needles, they all seem to have a different personality. In case you are curious owls usually are solitary birds but when you have a large group they are commonly called a parliament of owls. So I have a parliament of owls occupying my knitting corner right now they are threatening to invade other areas of the house too. So I have been capturing them and wrapping them up to send out as presents which should get things back under control.

Let me know what you think of my pattern and subscibe to my blog by Saturday morning because when I release the pattern on Saturday I am going to pick out on of my subscribers and send them a kit for an owlet. The kit will have almost everything you need to make a mini owl or a mini pouch. Yarn that I hand dyed in my garden, the pattern and felt in case you are making a pouch, a snap and buttons for the eyes even a swivel hook. All you need to supply is knitting needles and a little time to make this for yourself.

So leave a comment and let me know what you think and subscribe to my blog and on Saturday I will pick out one subscriber to win a kit.

7 Comments

  1. 122xxxx said,

    December 16, 2011 at 12:56 am

    I really like the owl! Great idea to make it into a kindle pouch. Am excited to see the pattern!

    • whatzitknitz said,

      December 16, 2011 at 1:13 am

      glad you like it – I have had a ton of fun knitting my parliament of owls and can’t wait to see other peoples animals.

  2. Alice Spencer said,

    December 16, 2011 at 2:00 am

    I love your owls. The one with the mouse made me giggle. Very awesome pattern.

    • whatzitknitz said,

      December 17, 2011 at 11:12 am

      Howell the owl loves the little mousie snack for his pocket too!
      Just kidding, Howell would never eat his mousie pal — Louis lives in his pouch and they have long serious discussions late into the night. Followed by silly knock-knock jokes — Howell loves knock-knock jokes and makes the best ‘whoooooo there’ when Louis says knock-knock.

  3. December 16, 2011 at 5:41 am

    LOVE the owls ❤ What a great idea 🙂

  4. Dana said,

    December 17, 2011 at 3:23 am

    These are adorable! You and Alice are a great team!

    • whatzitknitz said,

      December 17, 2011 at 11:01 am

      I agree ; ) Alice is the greatest. She really smooths out all the rough spots in these patterns.


Leave a Reply

