Whatz it

Any one that guessed sock–you are close but not quite right.Ahh!!! there add a couple of friends and you can see what this will be. Alice and I are busy adding the details for this guy and I am retesting the pattern by knitting a larger size. Alice has already tested the mini twice. We are having a lot of fun making up the minis and stringing them together.

Yesterday I was talking about yarn — as much as I love natural fabrics sometimes it just isn’t the right yarn choice. For a toy that is going to be donated I want to be sure that it will hold up in the wash. So the yarn above is one that I purchased at Ben Franklin’s. It is Coffee Beenz By PlymouthYarn. It has a rustic look and has an uneven spin to it for a homespun charm. It is 25% wool and 75% acryllic. It feels soft  I have a feeling I will get 2 monkeys out of a skien of yarn there is 214 yards in a ball. So later I will stuff this guy and needle sculpt some ears  and knit the arms and legs.

I also tried this yarn for the first time yesterday. the light pink is a finger weight pima cotton and the darker pink and the gold skien is organic sports weight cotton. I really like this, I only ordered a couple of balls to try out and wished I had ordered more. It is very nice to work with–I knit my sample on size#2 needles and I love the look and feel of this yarn. It was easy on my fingers and the stitch definition is great. It worked up fast and although I am not a pink person this heathery dogwood color won me over. There is 164 yards in the sports weight ball and 218 yards in the pima fingerweight cotton.

So thats whatz new in my neck of the woods. I will leave you with a picture of the sunrise and then I need to go out and enjoy this beautiful weather.

Leave a Reply

