Knitting Spring

Taking a short break from knitting my wrap. I am knitting up my own personal sunshine. It is bright and yellow and goes from very pale yellow to a darker yellow orange like the color you  get under your chin when you rub a dandelion on your skin. It is sharp and tangy like lemon drops. So lemony it makes your lips pucker, a glorious riot of yellow. I love yellow but I don’t wear it. I should, knitting with it makes my heart feel light. I feel like spring is in the air. It lights up my room even though outside it is dreich(scottish word for a gray dismal day). Its hard not to feel cheerful.

I keep thinking of the flowers hiding under the snow patched ground. A hundred daffodils bulbs (planted last fall) a few of which have already started pushing there way up through the dirt. I can’t wait to how many have survived the dog’s frantic burying in the dirt. Some of our willows already have little pussy toes on thier branches. Last week we spotted 2 sandhill cranes- -they landed 20 feet in front of us as we walked around the ponds. the male proceeded to dance and call – I like to think he was dancing for us but I think he was displaying for the female and telling her he would protect her from these 2 people and their dog. The song of the sandhill isn’t very pretty it sounds like a sick turkey or a honking goose gargling. And it is very loud-I couldn’t imagine living near a fly way where large flocks  of them make this noise. But I love hearing them in little doses when they come back in the spring in pairs. It has been so warm this winter that the last 3 weeks I have expected to hear the trill of black birds as I walk.

Spring is in the air and on my needles —  I can’t wait for this winter to be over and move into the new season

4 Comments

  1. Lorraine said,

    March 28, 2012 at 11:54 pm

    Oh how i love that color yarn but you dod’nt tell what brand. I ‘m wanting such a yellow color to make a sweater for myself……please let me know what yarn it is ? thanks !

  2. whatzitknitz said,

    March 29, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    I wish you could see this yellow in person the photos don’t quite capture the colors in the yarn. This is a yarn that I dyed myself and I couldn’t be more pleased with it. The yarn base is just a finger weight wool and the dye is onion skins that I had saved in the cupboard. I took the dried skins and simmered them in a pot and then added the yarn.

    • Lorraine said,

      March 31, 2012 at 2:04 pm

      i did’nt know you could get such a wonderful color from onion skins. If i wanted to try the same about how many skins would i need ? I have been all over the net trying to find a refreshing type of yellow that i dont have in my dye collection. all the yellows i see are too dark & not bright enough. I want to knit this sweater from the book New England Knits, its the cover sweater & i dont want to knit it in boring sheep wool i want use 50% qiviut-50% merino so it will be very soft & cuddly. any info on amounts of skins needed would be much appreciated….Thank you !

  3. whatzitknitz said,

    April 1, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    I don’t use set formulas in my dyeing. I gather materials and work with what I have. sometimes I know what I will get out of my dye pot other times it is a happy surprise!
    Onion skins are pretty simple and I don’t know why I waited so long to try them. I saved dried onion skins in bags that I kept in the cupboard under the sink. I had filled 2 gallon sized ziplock bags with skins when I decided to use them. I simmered them in a pot with enough water to cover them. The color came up very quickly and after an hour I added a skien of yarn. with this amount I dyed 4 skeins. I used alum for a mordant although I have read that you don’t need a mordant for onion skins. I saved the water I used for the dye bath because I ran out of yarn before the color was exhausted. If you look at pictures in the post about dyeing with onion you see that my skeins have different hues of color – one of the reasons for this is the material in the yarn I had used peruvian wool and also a silk wool blend for socks.
    I hope this helps a little — I will try to have some more post about my dyeing adventure and will promise to be a little more scientific and weight and measure materials ; )


Leave a Reply

