Rubber Duckie You’re the one

Vest is on hold temporarily.

Meva had to go to the vet yesterday – she had a cut that wasn’t healing. Dr. Heidi ended up stitching her wound together. Poor Meva came home wearing a cone and wasn’t very happy. Mev doesn’t bark much but the last 6 months she has been very expressive and talks quite a bit. She has a variety of noises to let us know what she wants or how she is feeling. Yesterday was a new noise – a very low quiet moan. Almost sounded like a distant siren. She clearly wasn’t happy with her situation. As the evening wore on the moan became louder- she wasn’t in pain just very unhappy. Luckily she knocked it off at bedtime so we could all get some sleep.

I wanted to keep the knitting light  while I watched her so I decided to cast on  for this months charity in the Itty Bitty Group.    Ravelry: Itty Bitty Knits discussion topic – April Charity   I am knitting  for preemies so it goes fast. Everything is so tiny. The blankets need to be  12″ x 12″ and the hats are about the size of a grapefruit.Its mind boggling that these are for babies and not dolls. My original plan was to cast on and knit a pattern from my Treasury of Knitting Patterns by Barbara Walker. I figure this would be a win-win I could pick out a pattern that I always wanted to try and make a large swatch and learn a new stitch.  But with the dog sick I decided to keep it simple  and look for a cute wash cloth on Ravelry and cast on extra stitches to make it the right size.

So armed with yellow yarn I cast on Rubber Ducky By Mimi Hill. There was even enough yarn left over to make a tiny cap. So I am off to a good start for April and maybe tonight I can concentrate on my vest again.

2 Comments

  1. Peg said,

    April 16, 2012 at 11:33 am

    Love the duck. I hope Meva is better

    • whatzitknitz said,

      April 17, 2012 at 1:52 pm

      I love duckies too except when they are pooping on the pier ; )
      Meva is doing great she doesn’t have to wear her cone anymore and her cut looks quite a bit better.


Leave a Reply

