Kitten Bonnet Pattern

With all the discussions I read about sharing a pattern and copyrights I really didn’t know what to expect when I wrote Patons Yarn company about sharing an out of print hat from an old booklet that I picked up for a quarter from Half Price Books. When I leafed through the pamphlet in the book store I came across this fluffy little pink set and even though my children are adults I just couldn’t resist buying it. I think I understand now why those grand motherly types were always pinching my children’s cheeks when they were small.The reply came quickly from Patons Yarn and gave me permission to share the directions for the Kitten Bonnet I wrote about in this post Kitten Baby Bonnet « whatzitknitz. It did ask me to share it as is. So I have scanned a copy into my computer and here it is.  Now if you click on the pattern your computer will bring it up on a separate page now you can print it. But check the print page and be sure to enlarge it to fit the page.

it is pretty straight forward. the yarn it is written for isn’t available any more but I use a sport weight or dk yarn. I have knit this with a worsted and went up a size needle to knit hat  fit a larger child.

I love this pattern — ‘it has that awwww isn’t that cute!’ factor. And it looks harder than it really is which makes it even better.

the hat starts out with 11 rows of garter stitch.  this is what frames the face and is sweeter that cotton candy in a fluffy yarn or some of that fake fur. When I use fake fur I just knit it right along with the sport weight yarn for these 11 rows.

For these 2 hats I used DK alpaca yarn. it has a little bit of fuzzy halo that I think is adorable for these kitties.

Then on the 12 row  increase 20 sts. After the increase row is plain jane stockinette. I have the new fair isle book by Mary Jane Mucklestone so I threw in a little stranded knitting there. Let yourself go wild I have made fuzzy wuzzy angora hats and striped cats, spotted ones and plain. I have made little socks and mitts that match with paw prints on the bottoms. Let your imagination run wild and try out bits of lace or fair isle. Baby hats are the perfect place to try out new techniques because they are small and fast. So have fun with it.

Now the next section the shaping of those adorable little ears. Before you are done you will have 125 sts on your needles. but don’t worry because the pattern has you cast off right away again. before you know it you will be in the home stretch knitting the back of the bonnet getting ready to cast off and sew up your seams. At this point flattened out the bonnet looks more like an elephant that a kitten but don’t worry a darning needle and some yarn will fix that.Now I love this pattern and I have knit so many I could do it in my sleep. After my first hat I was sure that I could cut out the seams.  Like a lot of people I  avoid the seams. After all why knit a mitten flat(like I learned to many years ago) when I could use 4 needles and put my mittens on when they were finished without waiting to sew them up. Who wants to spend time seaming when they could be knitting. There are times when a seam is important adding structure and stability. But other times it can be avoided. I wrote a post a while back to show off this little cap and to show how I fudged a little to not sew. But other than that the pattern is just the way it is in the pamphlet. If you knit this hat you are going to fall in love with the structure of those cute little ears. And when you put this on a baby other knitters are going to oooh and ahh with the cuteness.  Because all babies are adorable and beautiful. And then you will get the compliment we all love to hear –“wow, what a talented knitter you are!! ”

Thank you Patons for being so generous with us!!

Now I am off I have a few errants to run and maybe I will stop and get some sportweight yarn and cast on another cat so I can show you pictures of short rows and 3 needles bindoff that I used for my hat.

Let me know if you are going to knit this bonnet and share a picture with me : )

5 Comments

  1. Peg said,

    April 20, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    Hi MJ I’m going to put this on my list to do; just need to find a baby for it. I want to see your short rows for the hat!

  2. Mary, Tx. said,

    April 21, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    Thank You sooooo much and Patons Yarn for sharing the Kitten Baby Bonnet pattern with us.
    I look forward to hearing all of the Awwwwwww’s from this cute little bonnet.
    Thank You for sharing your knitting inspirations and part of your life with us. 🙂

  3. Sandra said,

    December 3, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    I made this hat 30 years ago for my first daughter. Wore it for her first halloween as well. Always a hit with strangers. Must have gotten rid of the pamphlet – but wanted to make one for my first granddaughter (now 5 weeks old!) So thrilled to find the pattern. Thanks for sharing.

    • whatzitknitz said,

      December 3, 2013 at 6:06 pm

      I am so glad you found your kitty bonnet again so you can make one for your granddaughter. I just love this hat and have made it more times than I can count. the kitty bonnets are just irresistibly on a babies head. I love it in fuzzy angora or a nice alpaca.

  4. Virginia Phillips said,

    December 10, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    I have a version of that hat and made it for my daughters, who are now 30 and 29.. It had ribbing at the bottom which hugged their necks and went down into their coats, it was the best hat! The book was called Family Headwear and Scarves I think.


Leave a Reply

