3KCBWDAY1 Nature’s colors

Colour Lovers
Colour is one of our greatest expressions of ourselves when we choose to knit or crochet, so how do you choose what colours you buy and crochet or knit with. Have a look through your stash and see if there is a predominance of one colour. Do the same with your finished projects – do they match? Do you love a rainbow of bright hues, or more subdued tones. How much attention do you pay to the original colour that a garment is knit in when you see a pattern? Tell readers about your love or confusion over colour.

Alas I am one of those challenged souls when it comes to color.

I go into the yarn store and fondle all the bright colors and the eyepopping combination of color in skiens. But although I buy some of these — it is sock yarn and the bright colors are hidden under my jeans. But you can see the colors in this blanket I knit of leftovers. Browns, greys and blues are the colors you will find in my closet.  Honestly I am trying to get myself out of this rut and be the woman that wears neon yellow and  sexy reds and eyepopping orange but if I am honest with myself I am more likely to wear it if it is earth tones. And that is ok– I am comfortable in these colors. Denim blues jeans  and brown t shirt topped with a gray sweatshirt preferable older are what I throw on in the morning.

Lately I have been dyeing my own yarn using plants. And I love the colors that come out of the dye pot. Maybe they appeal to the 1970’s teenager in me.

I harvest native plants from the garden at the cabin and simmer them in a pot over the fire pit in the yard. I am fasinated with the hues of color that attatch themself to my bare wool. Some are amazing-ly bright. the oranges from cosmos and marigold. or the intense neon yellow from goldenrod. some are weak and barely give any color such as mullien and mint. Others yield beautiful browns and greens.

the process is magical when I throw a red flower into the dye pot I don’t necessarily get a a red color on my yarn. It is always a surprise. Red hollyhocks produced a light blueish greenish gray– lovely. I want to save blooms again this year and play with them. But I might not get the same color again – that is part of the surprise the color can vary depending on the weather or the time of year or even the water you use.

2 years ago I dyed a yarn an amazing light buttery yellow with queen anne’s lace– just perfect and it was destined to be a shawl for my niece who was getting married. It knit up quickly and I  just knew that she would love the color. But then I washed it so I could block it and horrors of horrors it turned a neon green. don’t get me wrong  it was still lovely but would a red head love this color–I just wasn’t sure so back to the drawing board and I restarted. now what happened to change my yarn you might say. Look at the difference in the picture above. I had washed and rinsed it when I dyed the yarn – and I believed the color had set. But it is the wonderful mystery of natural dyeing- more than likely it was because the water  or maybe the soap that I used at home had a different ph than the soap and water at the cabin and that changed my yarn. I am glad that it happened here and not after I sent it. I couldn’t repeat this magic if I tried.

I love this yellow from onion skins and want to dye enough yarn to knit myself a short sleeved sweater with it.

And I am going to finish this hat for myself it has a little yarn from several different dye pots in it. It is the 3rd on I have cast on – the other 2 I gave to my sisters as b-day presents. I did try on the hats before I mailed them and I liked the colors on me so I am thinking if I take baby steps and introduce color slowly I can get myself out of this rut and be the woman who wears yellow and reds instead of the dull colors I normally wear.

In the spirit of being more colorful I bought these last week…..wild and crazy who knows what color will be next ; 0

14 Comments

  1. siga said,

    April 23, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    A very interesting post. Glad to have found your blog.

  2. Ana BC said,

    April 23, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    Lovely post. Glad to find you @ Blog week
    Ana BC

    • whatzitknitz said,

      April 26, 2012 at 2:03 pm

      Thanks ANA BC and siga. I have been enjoying reading all the different post this week and discovering new blogs to read. this has been so much fun for me and a bit of a challenge to write about a topic each day. It is almost like homework back when I was in school but lots more fun ; )

  3. sarahfay said,

    April 23, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    The blanket is very beautiful, love the colors in it. And your new shoes are a nice touch to your wardrobe.

  4. josiekitten said,

    April 23, 2012 at 6:53 pm

    Your naturally dyed yarns are such beautiful soft colours.

    • whatzitknitz said,

      April 26, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      There is something about the natural dyes that you get more muted colors. and surprisingly colors you don’t think go together well look great together.
      …although I did get an amazing bright orange last summer from cosmos and an almost neon yellow from goldenrod.

  5. jrnylst said,

    April 23, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    Thank you for sharing the gorgeous results of your dyeing projects. I’ve had the bug for a while and been afraid to step into the water. Or garden, I guess! I think you may have just given me a burst of confidence!

  6. April 23, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    That’s amazing that the color changed like that. You have the perfect attitude for natural dying. And the blanket is amazing!

  7. kathy b said,

    April 23, 2012 at 9:08 pm

    You dye your own wonders…wow I Love the hues

  8. baamekniits said,

    April 26, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    I will have to follow you now to find out what other lovely colours you come up with in your dye pot 🙂

    • whatzitknitz said,

      April 26, 2012 at 1:42 pm

      I hope you do follow along and maybe you will be tempted to dye along with me 🙂


Leave a Reply

