day3 3KCBWDAY3

Your Knitting Or Crochet Hero
Blog about someone in the fibre crafts who truly inspires you. There are not too many guidelines for this, it’s really about introducing your readers to someone who they might not know who is an inspiration to you. It might be a family member or friend, a specific designer or writer, indie dyer or another blogger. If you are writing about a knitting designer and you have knitted some of their designs, don’t forget to show them off. Remember to get permission from the owner if you wish to use another person’s pictures.

I admire all the newer knitters out there. They are fearless and love to unvent the yarn world. And its hard to single out one. There are so many knitting designers old and new that I admire.

I have knit for 45 years  and just when you think there is nothing new out there a new designer will come along and unvent a technique that has been around since when the first woman flicked a bit of string and 2 sticks together and started making cloth. It is eye opening to watch how someone else takes  the 2 stitches that we all use to knit and turns them around to do a neat new shaping trick and takes knitting to a new level.

Maybe because of the internet and ravelry and knitty these techniques and patterns seem to come alive on my needles more often. I don’t have to wait and  accidently run into a book on the shelves of the library or bookstore. An innovative pattern will come out and then sweep us all off our feet overnight.

Because of ravelry forums I got involved test knitting. And through testing met a wonderful knitter from many miles away. I would have never meet Jana in my neck of the woods. The internet made it possible for us to meet Jana  justblock(gg)ed  is in Germany and I am in Wisconsin.   Ravelry: janukke’s profile   A couple ofyears ago I begged for a spot in a test group for Jana. She had designed a fantastic blanket based on a print by one of my favorite artist MC Escher

This past winter I was thrilled to be included in a 2nd test group far a new blanket. Jana has managed to take very basic sts and combine them in ways that the animals seem to come to life as you knit. Literally I felt as if the fish were wiggling and squirming to swim off my needles. There is a life to them that makes you feel like Geppetto must have felt when Pinocchio came to life. 

While I knit I really thought about the stitches and how they formed the fish. Really, it is just knits and purls, – moss stitch and ribbing and a couple of bobbles thrown in for good measure.  But then Jana tosses  a few short rows into the mix and suddenly the fish comes to life on my needles. Even the sewing is delightful–the way the pieces fit together  like a jig saw puzzles makes me eager to sew as soon as I have enough animals to make a hexagon.

Well you get the idea I could gush on and on — but lets just say I am in awe of the Jana’s imagination and   the genius of her designs.

I love meeting knitters on the internet and I think meeting new knitters that are not inhibited by the rules has changed how I knit. I am not in their league but I think seeing their patterns and reading their blogs has freed me to just play and not worry about rules.

My knitting has changed- now I pick up my needles and play. I start a swatch just to see what happens when I twist a stitch this way or that. I stack the swatches to build little things– whimsies and toys. They take very little time or yarn so I don’t feel bad when it doesn’t work out. But my play teaches me things……short rows make little monkey butts and mouths………..…..the lizard ridge blanket inspired a dinosaur. ….….and a bulbious nose becomes……..well lets just call it a whatzit Its just playing around and some thing that is a botched up swatch becomes a toy with a little tweaking.

My playing helps me understand how short rows added to a sweater helps it fit better. Understanding how my knitting works helps me be able to change pattern and knit it in the round instead of seaming. I love how this new wave of knitters that I meet on my computer has turned knitting upside down and opened my eyes about what my needles can do.

3 Comments

  1. baamekniits said,

    April 26, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    I love how you have started playing with knitting….I need to do more of that 🙂

    • whatzitknitz said,

      April 26, 2012 at 1:45 pm

      I may be entering my 2nd childhood but I do think lay is important for the growing knitter.
      and best of all when I play with this small things I am almost guaranteed to bring a : ) to some one’s face!

  2. April 27, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    […] find in the woodpile If my husband knit he would have been my knitting hero ; ) in the post on   day3 3KCBWDAY3 « whatzitknitz.  And now that I think of it – the way he works at projects reminds me of how Elizabeth […]


Leave a Reply

