day4 What’s on your needles?

A Knitter or Crocheter For All Seasons?
As spring is in the air in the northern hemisphere and those in the southern hemisphere start setting their sights for the arrival of winter, a lot of crocheters and knitters find that their crafting changes along with their wardrobe. Have a look through your finished projects and explain the seasonality of your craft to your readers. Do you make warm woollens the whole year through in preparation for the colder months, or do you live somewhere that never feels the chill and so invest your time in beautiful homewares and delicate lace items. How does your local seasonal weather affect your craft?

Spring in the air??

Here in the midwest spring is hit and miss.   After a very mild winter it did look like we might move right into summer weather. But like I said this is the midwest and Saturday morning we woke up to a heavy frost and ice had formed over night on the ponds and bird baths.  This year and I think I only wore my thermal ‘woollie’ pants 2 or 3 times but I still sported heavy mittens pulled on over gloves every day. I wore my long leg warmers under my pants most mornings. I wore my hat that is made of muskrats my nephew trapped on my morning walk.

(Billy that hat is still the warmest hat I own).

Because this is the midwest there are times you will see me in a heavy sweatshirt and a wool cap when I go fishing in the middle of the summer. So no matter the time of year you will see a pair of mittens or a wool cap on my needles.  These and socks are the perfect on-the-go knitting project. You know a small thing that you can throw in your bag and carry with you. You just never know when you will have to wait in line or get stuck in a traffic jam(socks and hats are perfect for this).

*I love how this toe came out — I didn’t have kitchener directions with me in the car so I modified the toe with a weirdo short row bind off until I had just 12 sts left and then wove them together ; ) it makes me smile

I also have two larger projects going a cardigan and a sweater vest right now. these I work on at home because they are larger

And there is always one or two toys hanging around

and maybe a couple of kid’s hats

…..cause…….Baby Its Cold Out There!!!

3 Comments

  1. April 27, 2012 at 8:38 am

    Brrr! We don’t see much of that white stuff here, even at Latitude 59. Our climate is mild and temperate, but the wind chill is Something Else so the thermal undies and woolly top layers are still required. I can discard the thermals in June but often need the hat and mitts in mid-summer.

  2. baamekniits said,

    April 29, 2012 at 11:21 am

    I love all your knitting! Those tiny monkeys sure are cute hanging around 🙂 I live in the tropics of Far North Queensland, Australia so no snow here….I mostly knit scarfs/socks/baby and of course toys 🙂

    • whatzitknitz said,

      April 29, 2012 at 3:42 pm

      Wow it must be beautiful by you in Australia. I confess I would miss the snow.
      I would love to see some of your animals. right now I am knitting foxes and monkeys.


Leave a Reply

