Pussy footing around

one of the nice things about knitting is that you can taylor a pattern to fit. My family likes to tease me about my toes. Now they are not like the toes pictured above by any means.

I think they are normal toes as you can see below. (I finished my Waffle Cream socks last night. And even tried them out today.)

I will admit I have blunt toes. Meaning straight across. The rest of the family have pointy toes that taper nicely from the big to the little and fit in those cute cowboy boots with the pointy toes. My Feet would die in those shoes. My toes would refuse to walk one mile in those shoes. And my podiatrist would scold me if I ever even tried on a pair.Those are my toes in the picture above trying on an almost finished pair of socks. I actually had one done and then realized that I wouldn’t have enough yarn to finish the second. (curses I should have done toe up socks)  Well no matter I wasn’t crazy about my sock toe in this picture – the stripe color changed just as I started the kitchener stitch and looks just horrid! soI frogged the toe and knit until I had 2 socks the same length and then put the first sock on hold and attached a brown yarn to the second sock and knit away.ready to start on the finish. Now a person could stop here and do the kitchener stitch on 26 stitches. But I always manage to lose track of whether I am sewing knit wise or purl wise through the stitch and end up with a funky looking weave. So ..I knit along 4 stitches on the side of the toe.

decreases on both sides as I knit one row and purl the next. Until…there are only 8 stitches left. So much easier to kitchener 8 stitches than 26 stitches.I kind of like the look of this toe…..now whose toes were in the first picture come back tomorrow and I will let you know.

**remember I will be giving away mini skeins if you leave a comment on any post from May 4th to the 13th.

4 Comments

  1. baamekniits said,

    May 7, 2012 at 11:29 am

    I do like the toes of your socks, I hate the pointy ones as my toes are not pointy either…..they dont look like those great clawed things either…is it a beaver??

  2. Ellen said,

    May 7, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    I’ve also got toes that run straight across and a wide foot. I find that I get a better fit if I don’t decrease as much as patterns call – meaning I start my toe decreases more like 1″ from the end rather than 2″. Your socks are beautiful!

  3. Kabira said,

    May 8, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    Lovely socks!

  4. lisawoodruff295 said,

    May 9, 2012 at 3:48 am

    Yep, I’m another one wuth blunt toes! I’ll have to try out your tips!


Leave a Reply

