May 8

Woke up to a sunny day today. Perfect weather to putz in the yard

No heavy lifting I prefer perenials that come back year after year.

Its nice to see plants coming up and a few are in bloom. Like this bleeding heart.and what ever this is in my rocksand climbing hydrangaeven a varigated one

knitted a little on this last night. It is a mosaic pattern out of The Second Treasury of Knitting Patterns by Barbara Walker.

Its called the Pin Box Pattern. Mosaic patterns are fun because in any row you use just one color but with the use of slipped stitches you end up with a pattern that looks as if you knit with 2 colors. 
You can probable already tell that I am knitting a turtle.

Here are 2 more mini skeins of yarn for the drawing — these 2 are Online Sock Yarn another super wash sock yarn.

I have been making mini skeins of 25 yards each and will have a drawing after May 13. To enter for the drawing of 13 skeins all you need to do is comment in any post between May 1 and May 13. You can enter more than once.

9 Comments

  1. lisawoodruff295 said,

    May 9, 2012 at 3:32 am

    Your flowers are so pretty! I love Bleeding Heart but I don’t have any in my yard. And the yarn is beautiful! Thanks for the heads up about the giveaway! Hope I win!

  2. lisawoodruff295 said,

    May 9, 2012 at 3:35 am

    Your flowers are pretty. I really like Bleeding Heart but I don’t have any in my yard. The yarn is awesome too! Thanks for the heads up about the giveaway. I sure hope I win!

  3. Lauren Priegel said,

    May 9, 2012 at 5:13 am

    What fun to see your garden coming to life. I love the variety of your blog-knitting, gardening, antiques and living the good life. I’ll be back to read more-thanks for posting on Ravelry and offering this fun contest.

  4. Peg said,

    May 9, 2012 at 11:19 am

    Hi MJ, When I first looked at your turtle, I guessed you were making a sleeve and thought what a fun sweater. I especially picture it as a cardigan. I also think that stitch pattern would make greatslouchy socks . . .

  5. Kabira said,

    May 9, 2012 at 8:05 pm

    Can’t wait to see the finished turtle!

  6. Ashley said,

    May 9, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    What pattern are you using for the turtle? I love the way the shell is coming together – he’s going to be adorable!

    • whatzitknitz said,

      May 12, 2012 at 11:38 am

      The pattern is one of my own. But the shell mosaic is from the Barbara Walker treasury of knitting patterns. I love leafing through her pattern books and picking out a pattern to try in something small.

  7. Mary, Tx. said,

    May 10, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    I was trying to figure out what your turtle was going to be but the placement of the needles had me really thinking about it.
    I thought it was going to be some kind of bonnet or hat because the needles reminded me of the kitten bonnet. I haven’t had time to go shopping for a fuzzy yarn to make a second kitten bonnet but I better get some soon or the baby will be here before I get it knitted. lol 🙂

    I was thinking of something to knit that would hold one of those medical water bottles and fill it with warm or cool water for a little one, or hot or cold water for an adult.
    I think the turtle would be cute because it swims in the water. 🙂

    • whatzitknitz said,

      May 12, 2012 at 11:41 am

      Have you finished a kitty hat now–I would love to see a picture.
      I am still trying to work out new flipper feet for my turtle. And I have a fun idea in my head for a swimming version of the turtle.


Leave a Reply

