Coreopsis

Today I am working in the yard, but I thought I could write a little about the different plants in my dye garden.This is Coreopsis or tick seed. It is a lovely flower to have in my plant bed

I  love the ferny leaves on this variety and the bright pops of yellow

Yesterday I weeded around the plants and was amazed at how many plants I have now. There are a couple of different varieties. One of the plants has already bloomed.  I will dead head that plant and maybe it will bloom again. Sometimes when I dead head instead of ‘cooking’ up my dye right away I will put the blossoms in a ziplock bag and freeze them. The flowers can sit until I have enough blossoms or until I have the time to simmer them.

The first year I grew this I used the blossoms to dye this shawl

Maybe this wasn’t the smartest move. I knit this shawl for my daughter’s wedding. I think I over heated the dye pot because instead of yellow I got a warm yellowy beige. My daughter hadn’t picked out her dress yet and when we went to shop she picked out a dress that would’t go with this shawl.
But it didn’t matter I love this pattern and quickly reknit it and resisted the temptation to throw it into the dye pot the second time around.

Unfortunately I don’t have any of the coreopsis yarn dyed but there are 13 other skeins — enter by leaving a comment. The drawing will be after May 13

4 Comments

  1. Sterling Smith said,

    May 10, 2012 at 1:41 pm

    Talk about a difference in growing seasons. Things around here are just getting started and yet you’re harvesting things.

    Those are beautiful flowers and just amazing.

    Guess I need to kick my dye garden into high gear.

  2. Kabira said,

    May 10, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    I love these for dyeing – ours aren’t yet in full bloom (Oregon)

  3. Julie said,

    May 11, 2012 at 2:35 am

    How interesting. Never thought of flowers in a garden as potential dyes for using to dye yarn. Just love your shawl! Your daughter is very lucky lady. Would be interesting in learning more about your dyes using various flowers. Personally, I love the color that the shawl turned out to be.

  4. Julie said,

    May 11, 2012 at 2:47 am

    How interesting. Just love your shawl and the color that it turned when you dyed it.


Leave a Reply

