indigo dreams

Forgive the blurry pictures but I wanted to share some shots of the beautiful blue yarns that I dyed 2 years ago.
The blues remind me of this cold winter night.This is indigo dye. I don’t grow Japanese indigo in my dye garden. I bought a kit instead. I really wanted to try indigo dye. Of all the dyes I have read about indigo seems quite magical. You set up the dye in a bucket and it doesn’t require heat other than the warm water you start with. The magic starts when you emerge the first skein of yarn and then take it out. There isn’t blue at first maybe just a tinge of yellow if you have set the bucket up right. But as the yarn is exposed to the air it starts to turn blue.In fact if you are looking for light blues you must be careful and not leave the yarn in the bucket very long because it gets dark so quickly.

Alice is dyeing some indigo this week in Memphis. I sent her some skeins of yarn that I had dyed with golden rod. My yarn was an intense yellow when I mailed it – – Alice says they are a spectacular green now. I can’t wait to see.

Enter in the drawing for 13 mini skeins of yarn – – one of the skeins is a pretty indigo blue I dyed last year. Enter by leaving a comment and the drawing will be after May 13

4 Comments

  1. Ellen said,

    May 11, 2012 at 3:48 pm

    Those blues are gorgeous!

  2. Kabira said,

    May 11, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    beautiful blues! I have a freind who just opened a weaving/dyeing store and studio in PDX who has a Japanese indigo pot fermenting away! His place is Indigo Dye and Fiber Works. Have you ever heard of Aurora Silk in Portland? Cheryl is an Indigo master.

    • whatzitknitz said,

      May 12, 2012 at 11:43 am

      I am going to look up this shop today. I just love indigo vats. They sound so complicated to set up so I take the lazy way out and use a kit.

  3. May 12, 2012 at 11:50 pm

    Beautiful! I’m growing J. Indigo and hope to achieve some blues – you’ve inspired me!


Leave a Reply

