mini skeins

Perhaps you have been thinking what would I do with mini skeins of sock weight yarn. After all they are only 25 yards a piece. That isn’t much yarn–certainly not enough for a pair of socks or a shawl.

But add them together with other sock scraps and you could knit a wild blanket.

http://www.ravelry.com/projects/mjm/leftovers You might want to check out the beekeepers quilt too.  http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/the-beekeepers-quilt

Wouldn’t you love to curl up under a blanket like this. And either of these blanket make a perfect small project to carry along in your purse.Or you could use the mini skeins to add color to a plain jane sock that you are knitting. Above is the socks I am currently knitting using plant dyed yarns. The dark brown is walnut husks. The golden color is dried dahlia blossoms that my sister Peg sent me. The blue is from an indigo kit I bought at Ben Franklins. And I used 2 different greens – – one green is from Queen Anne’s Lace and the other from mint over mullein. The brilliant orange color in the skein is the marigold blossom yarn that I am going to wind a mini hank from.  Isn’t that yarn dazzling. It is just a mixed marigold blossoms that I planted last year and I froze the flowers and dyed with them last January.

I made Howell the Owl from mini skeins also. http://www.ravelry.com/projects/mjm/howell-the-owl-pocket-pal

I am sure you could come up with your own ideas too for the 13 mini skeins I am giving away. Just leave a comment by May 13 to enter the drawing.

11 Comments

  1. Ashley said,

    May 11, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    I love, love, love your adorable owl! Hehe, now you’re getting me excited about mini skeins. 🙂

    • whatzitknitz said,

      May 12, 2012 at 11:44 am

      Alice helped me write a pattern for the owl. We had so much fun doing it we just couldn’t stop. We turned the basic pattern into a cover for a kindle and then made a mini for an iPhone too!

  2. Ellen said,

    May 11, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    Love those socks! And the owl is really cute too!

  3. Ber said,

    May 11, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    Cute socks. I think I’d make some Blender Socks with the mini skeins.

  4. May 11, 2012 at 10:49 pm

    I can’t believe that blanket is knitted, the shapes look like they should be crochet! What a cool technique. 🙂

    • whatzitknitz said,

      May 12, 2012 at 11:51 am

      My hexagon blanket was a fun winter time knit. If you can knit socks you can knit these. I used dp needles and worked from the center out -starting with 6sts and finishing with 150 for each hex. Each hex took a little over 2 hours to knit and used all those pesky left over sock bits. When I got to the end of my scraps I still needed more so I begged Alice for some of hers ; )

  5. mary mac said,

    May 12, 2012 at 8:02 am

    I like to make up small flowers for my grand daughter. She uses them on headbands and bookcovers.

  6. Kabira said,

    May 12, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    LOVE the socks you are making!

  7. Mapache said,

    May 12, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    The socks are cute! I’ve been dying to make the beekeeper’s quilt, but most of my stash is worsted acrylic bc it was gifted to me. I got RAK’d some sock yarn (I ❤ Ravelry) but I'll need it to make the socks I'm about to cast on (my first pair!). I'm pretty excited about them. 😀

    • whatzitknitz said,

      May 23, 2012 at 3:31 am

      You are going to love making socks!! And once you wear them your feet will be spoiled and want more!

  8. Rae Lynne said,

    May 13, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    Love how your yarn comes out in the dyepots!

    Thanks for the giveaway!


Leave a Reply

