woke this morning to another beautiful May day. The siberian irises are just starting to bloom.These are my favorite irises–they grow about 2″ high in a clump and have multiple blooms. I planted 2 small clumps 10 years ago and have divided them several times and probable have 15 clumps of flowers now.

We had one of my favorite breakfast this morning — fresh fish. The fishing is still slow but we caught 7 nice crappies last night. I coated them with a little flour with a dash of salt then fried them in a tsp of butter and canola oil. Then made eggs over easy with some fresh onion rye bread from the Hillsboro Market.

Tiny Tim is almost finished–I need to add some eyes still. But I wanted to see if he could swim…and he swims well. Then he crawled up on shore near a forget-me-not plant

and sunned himself.I already cast on a second turtle and finished the body. this time when I work the head and legs I will write down what I am doing.  I love this turtle and he came out just the way I pictured. I didn’t take a picture of the back side but he is a lot like the other animals I have knitted — he has a small pocket. Which is perfect because he is a bath toy. and you can put a little bar of soap in the pocket and have a fun bath scrubbie. I put some unusual stuffing in my turtle so it will dry out faster and the stuffing in the head makes it float. I think the eyes should be embroidered and after he dries out I will work on it.

3 Comments

  1. Peg said,

    May 19, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    Neat! I’m looking forward to finding out what the unusual stuffing is!

  2. baamekniits said,

    May 20, 2012 at 12:04 pm

    Nice bath toy, I think every one should have bath toys 🙂


Leave a Reply

