I came home from the cabin and found this on my doorstepThis is the first yarn that my daughter Alice spun on the spinning wheel I gave her a 1 1/2 weeks ago.
I think it is lovely . She says it was a great yarn to learn to use a spinning wheel with because it was long kinky locks. But it also wasn’t completely clean so there are bits of vegetation in it. There is 250 yards of this rustic looking yarn. And I have the perfect project in mind.  The colors and texture remind me of gnarly old tree bark.And as if this wasn’t enough yarn hidden underneath was …. this yarn doesn’t it make you think of a warm summer day with tiny little wisps of clouds floating above. This is from an indigo vat she had set up.

But there was still more in the box. These 2  beauties came out next. I knew Alice was going to have indigo pot going so I sent her 2 skeins that I had dyed with golden rod. the yellow was very intense almost neon. So she overdyed these for me.The dark skein went in first and darkened very quickly. The second skein was in for a matter of seconds and then out again. The dark skein is the same dappled green that I see on the black spruce trees at the cabin in the fall. The light one also reminds me of pine trees but in the spring — when the candles at the end of the branches are a light yellowish green with the promise of new growth. That is what our pine trees look like now.

These are just the greens I was looking for when I sent her the yellow yarn. But now I can think of a couple of things I want to knit with these– not the original project I had in mind though- something different……

…..and then after that maybe there will be enough  scraps so I can make a little turtle too.

4 Comments

  1. Peg said,

    May 19, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    Wow! Alice looks like she’s a natural at spinning

    • whatzitknitz said,

      May 21, 2012 at 2:40 pm

      Well Peg you know our daughters– over acheivers just like their moms ; )

  2. baamekniits said,

    May 20, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Your daughter has spun some lovely looking yarn. I have been trying all week to get just that look. It is hard to go back to rustic after you have been spinning fine for a while. Your overdyed yard turned out fabulous didn’t it….love those greens! 🙂

    • whatzitknitz said,

      May 21, 2012 at 2:39 pm

      that is funny I was telling Alice that when she gets more experiance at spinning it will be hard to spin a rustic yarn like this.


Leave a Reply

