Can you see it…….

I watched for about 20 minutes before I decided to try to sneak up behind it and get closer.
Here is a better shot it was so intent on digging out the insects it didn’t hear me. I was nervous because the gravel was crunching under my feet and I really am not very sneaky anyways.but he didn’t fly away he just paused every once and a while and looked aroundIts a pileated woodpecker. It looks almost prehistoric with the long beak. The crest on its head is a very bright red. We used to see these every day when we lived at the cabin full time. And once I spent a wintery afternoon watching as one drilled an old tree on our neighbors property, stripping all the bark off the tree as it hunted for insects. This is a male. you can tell because of the stripe of red on the chin. It is just slightly smaller than a crow. Who needs tv when you watch birds like these?

1 Comment

  1. baamekniits said,

    May 20, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    Wow that is the second pileated woodpecker that I have seen this week, they must be in season over there right now…how amazing they look 🙂


Leave a Reply

