feather in my cap

So I am testing a cap for my favorite designer  Jana http://justblocked.blogspot.com/

So far I love everything about the test. The pattern is a cap with a brim. I am a person that wears baseball caps year round to keep the sun out of my eyes. So I love the idea of a knit cap with a brim. I made one for a favorite little guy 2 years ago. I had made him a knit hat and when he tried it on he immediately said ‘oh it doesn’t have a brim’. His mom frowned and told him just say thank you but I took it back saying ‘well – we will just have to make this right’.  So I picked up stitches and made a folded brim and inserted a stiff felt inside it before stitching it up. This worked and Mason loved the new cap.

But Jana’s cap works out better than my brim –the stitch chosen for the brim adds a stiffness without having to add something to hold its shape. And the texture is so beautiful.

The short brim calls to mind a greek fisherman’s cap that my x used to wear back in the 70’s.but the resembalance ends there cause the cap continues up into a full cap that is a little slouchy.

The brim was worked on US#1 needles. And the woven stitch was a little tight to work. So tight that I broke my needles just before finishing the upper brim. Argg!! I had to put away my cap and work on baby caps for a bit. But once I replaced my needles I finished the brim and moved on to the ribbing ; )

Now normally when I test I follow the directions to a t. That is what a test means you are testing the pattern not altering the pattern to fit your own vision.  But I couldn’t resist making a small change — Jana had a beautiful stitch detail  in the body of the cap. And I couldn’t resist putting it on the side of the cap. The stitch calls to mind a feather. And a feather belongs on the side. If you google a ‘feather in the cap’ you find that traditionally a hunter would take the feather from the first woodcock shot and add it to the side of his hat as a trophy of his accomplishment. And this is fitting– a feather in my cap — whenever I have knit for Jana I feel an accomplishment. Now that doesn’t mean that Jana’s patterns are hard. No not at all — her patterns aren’t hard but they look difficult and so– make you look like a very skilled knitter!! Ahh-a feather in my cap!!

Now that the brim is finished I am zipping along.Which is good the temperatures are cooling a little this week and if I hurry I might get to wear my hat on my morning walks. This is so cute I want to wear it now instead of putting it away until fall.

6 Comments

  1. Ellen said,

    May 31, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    Great idea – I like your feather! I’m glad to know that the pattern goes more quickly after the brim, as it’s been real slow going. But I am almost finished with this part and am looking forward to starting the body of the hat.

    • whatzitknitz said,

      June 2, 2012 at 1:47 pm

      just couldn’t resist putting the feather at the side of my cap. I am glad that Jana puts up with a juvenile tester such as myself ; P

  2. baamekniits said,

    June 1, 2012 at 11:38 am

    Such a nice hat, it is unusual to see a knitted hat with a brim…I love it!

    • whatzitknitz said,

      June 2, 2012 at 1:45 pm

      I love every thing about this hat. I even love that cool weather has returned to Wisconsin so I can wear it!

  3. Peg said,

    June 1, 2012 at 11:39 am

    Nice! Just finished the brim last night . . .


Leave a Reply

