Oh Rats!

My husband came inside last night and told me he thought he saw a rat in the garage. Now normally I am not a squeemish person but lately these kind of things freak me out. I squealed when we trapped a muskrat and then we let it go and it doubled back towards me.

So I just wasn’t delighted by the idea of a rat in the garage but when you live in the country they are going to go where they can find food. And our dog food is kept in the garage and her food bowl. Plus the little darling, Meva buries her food all over the yard.

So this morning Marty yelled up the stairs to come down and see what they had. Meva had cornered something in a box. Marty was holding the box shut and couldn’t make out what was inside. Meva was very proud of cornering whatever it was. And I prepared myself to run back into the house screaming. Its a baby possum who immediately plays dead just like his mama taught him. He looks like he is gritting his teeth in frustration at having spent the night in our garage and then being trapped in what he thought was a good hiding place. Meva went to protect her prize but Marty scooped it up with a snow shovel and put it on the other side of the fence before Meva could try to play with it.For just a minute it seemed like this tiny guy was going to come back into our yard  but then he turned tail and ran home.

A happy ending for everyone. The possum went home to brag to his brothers and sisters how he got away from the wolf dog. And I didn’t squeal and Meva feels like a big bad hunter protecting us.

 

2 Comments

  1. lkstimeling said,

    July 2, 2012 at 12:35 am

    Just reading this on July 1 and am laughing! There’s a great commercial on TV of a family who gets an opossum instead of a dog – sadly I can’t remember what the commercial is for, but I’ll always remember playing ‘possum!

    • whatzitknitz said,

      July 2, 2012 at 1:23 pm

      I love to watch the critters that share our yard but in my old age I seem to be getting squeamish and get a little freaked out about rats. I was so glad to see a possum instead of a rat. And this baby was quite adorable –he was probable a little freaked out to be trapped in the garage overnight and squeamish when he saw us.


Leave a Reply

