Caveman diet

Just finished my caveman breakfast. Well actually I know a caveman wouldn’t reconize this meal as breakfast fare but bear with me. Lately my husband and I have been eating a lot of protein. Not to lose weight(although any weight loss for me would be appreciated) no it is because flour seems to give me terrible stomach cramps. And my husband suffers with colitus. So we eat protein.

So this morning we had rancho huevos – which translates to eggs scramble with a little leftover taco meat mixed in. Yummy and in my burrito I mix in a little cheese and onions. Very little carbs just the burrito shell. Now Marty likes oatmeal with breakfast but given a flare up his meals can’t have a mix like the food pyramid recommends. So he has a bowl of oatmeal when he first gets up and 2 hours later he has his cave man breakfast. Flare ups also means no fruit and no vegetables right now. And when he is able to bring them back into his diet  he will have to eat them separately- no mixing.

We are fortunate to have a good team of doctors willing to work with us on meds since my husband’s heart surgery because something as simple as aspirin causes a relapse in the fight with colitis. But we are so lucky and we are both healthy and happy since we have altered the way we eat.

But my husbands hates when I talk about health problems it is so personal but then maybe it will help someone else. But I do miss some things like spicy foods…. and cakes……. and sweets. I have given up coke too. But I don’t miss my shot of caffiene too much although Marty says it alters my personality.

But really……. why am I bringing all this up —I guess it is ……missing the sweets. After all we celebrated 2 birthdays last month with out even a crumb of cake. And I love to bake. It is relaxing for me. When I started writing a blog last year it was to share knitting and baking. It was right before X-mas so I included favortie cookies and sweets. I think next X-mas I will still make candy for presents(ok maybe I will sneak one or two pieces for myself) but no cookies.

Still I woke up this morning with a feeling of some thing missing so I thought maybe if I wrote out a recipe to share that would be good enough. What I have a taste for is cake ……rich chocolate cake……piled high with creamy frosting. Decadant cake……. I wish I had a picture of the last time I made this cake in my photo library. But I don’t …you will just have to believe me it is a lovely cake moist and flavorful and very pretty sitting on a cake plate ready to be cut after dinner. Now I nicknamed this cake –Chloe’s Can’t Be Beet-in Chocolate Cake– for my niece who hated her vegies when she was young…..because hidden inside are beets.

Chloe’s Can’t Be Beet-in Chocolate Cake

1 cup butter softened

1 1/2 cups dark brown sugar

3 eggs room temp

1/2 cup buttermilk

9 TBS dark cocoa powder

2 cups pureed cooked beets

2 tsp orange extract or 1 tsp orange oil

2 cups flour

2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

cream butter and sugar—add eggs one at a time beat well after each addition. add cocoa powder beet puree and orange oil mix thorughly.

combine flour baking soda and salt  add to creamed mixture along with buttermilk -mix well. spoon into 2 greased and floured round cake tins bake at 350*  for 25 to 30 min or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Now the hard part waiting for it to cool without sneaking a crumb or too. When cooled you can frost. My favorite frosting is cream cheese and powdered sugar. I really don’t have a recipe per say but take a block of cream cheese(the 8 oz because I like a lot of frosting). beat it with a smidgen of milk and then start adding powdered sugar. until you have mounds of fluffy white sweet sinfully sweet frosting. If the frosting gets too stiff add a little more milk and if it is too runny add powdered sugar. yummmm……Really I can just picture it ..,, a nice layer cake sitting on my cake pedistal ready to slice into with a knife. And when you do there is rich dark chocolate layers under the mounds of white frosting. The cake is moist because of the addition of beets. Oh and it is healthy because of the beets and chocolate especially dark chocolate is good for you right? ……..mmmm….. If you are a person who doesn’t like orange and chocolate and I guess there are people like that you can substitute vanilla for the orange oil. And even healthier than white flour is King Arthur’s pastry wheat flour which works well in baking. I like buttermilk when recipes call for milk or water in a cake– I think a cake rises higher and taste better with it but yogurt and sour cream work well as a replacement.

Well it is good to get that out of my system. Hope that if you can eat cake you have a slice or two for me. I am going out to take pictures in the garden to add to this post because there isn’t a single picture. And then I am going out on the deck to finish up some knitting and to read a little. 

4 Comments

  1. Abbey said,

    June 12, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    Having recently been diagnosed with colitus I really do feel for you and your husband. I know it’s difficult to talk about health problems, I hate it when it’s discussed, but I found this entry looking for someone who has the same problems and has found a way to manage which could help me also.
    Luckily cake is ok for me atm, lets hope it stays that way.

    • whatzitknitz said,

      June 12, 2012 at 9:10 pm

      This is what is currently working — we have done many things over the years. Some things work for a while and then he has to try some thing new. One thing that always helps is smoking — so when he has a bad flare up he will start smoking again. And believe it or not even his dr approves.
      But we are really struggling and hope that he can control through diet and not smoking.

  2. Minna Citrano said,

    February 27, 2013 at 11:06 pm

    The Caveman Power Diet increases energy, the ability to burn fat, and gets you in touch with your natural instincts. It’s not just a way to lose weight, it’s a healthy approach to making your body indestructable.Doing the the Caveman Power Diet is a very natural state for your body to be in, and you will feel the results immediately. Embrace it for what it is; animal motivation. It is a very open do-it-yourself diet, that encourages you to feel content in a way that suits you personally…

    Have a look at our web site too
    <,http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/l-lysine-benefits/

    • whatzitknitz said,

      February 28, 2013 at 3:30 pm

      This caveman type of diet really seems to be working for us right now. I find myself feeling much better when I eliminate gluten. slowly I have been able to add a little more into my husbands diet and he also feels much healthier.


Leave a Reply

