Charity knitting

Now that summer is in full swing–a lot of us are spending more time outside….

playing

swimming

boating

and just relaxing

its hot here and its hard to garden unless you get up very early and beat the heat.

And our knitting is neglected — No one wants to be knitting on wool sweaters in this heat

and a lacy shawl takes too much concentration as you lounge in the sun.

whats a knitter to do?

well this month I am going to just knit toys. Well that might not be a big change for me because I knit a whole bunch of toys. I love toys — they make me smile — they are small enough to carry in your purse to work on — they can be easy and fast and is a great way to use up some of that leftover yarns lurking in the bin under the bed.

My problem with toys is my children are grown and I don’t have grand kids yet…..so what can I do with the finished toys…….

Last summer my LYS sponsored a PB&J toy drive. the goal was to fill the store window.

All the toys are donated to Children’s Hospital in Milwaukee. They are given to the Oncology unit. ………this is perfect for me.

It makes me sad to think of these little kids being sick but I love crafting a toy that may bring a smile to someone’s face and brighten their day.

So this year I am hosting the month of July’s charity knitting in the Itty Bitty Knits group      ravelry.http://www.ravelry.com/discuss/itty-bitty-knits/topics/2202444

Each month someone in the group picks a charity and then the group gets together and knits for that charity. I have seen some beautiful things fly off the needles of the generous knitters in this group. And I am inviting you to join with us and knit a toy for Pals Bring Joy. This is a group that knits for the HOT(hematology/oncology/transplant) unit at Children’s Hospital in Milwaukee. Its hard to imagine how lonely and scary it is for a child to be cooped up in a hospital setting away from the familiar comforts of home. The average stay is a month. They take all kinds of knits including hats but they are always short on toys.

http://www.palsbringjoy.com/www.palsbringjoy.com/Welcome.html

And even though knitting for a charity has its own feel good rewards I want to give a pattern to everyone that knits and sends a toy for PB&J.

The pattern will be the…. Pig That didn’t make Knitty. Or as we call him Canned Ham.

My family had a ton of fun knitting these. I made the first one and like my other animals the canned ham has a little pocket in front where you can stash a little treat for the child. I wrote the pattern up(this really means that I scribble sketchy notes on a pad of graph paper) and email it to my daughter Alice who desperately tries to make sense of it. After working it into something that could be read and knit –my sister Peg test knit this for me. She made the cutest little piggies that she stuffed into canning jars with valentine candy hearts and m&m and then mailed to her girls away at college(even grown up girls need to giggle over stuffed toys!)

When you use smaller needles and sock weight yarn the canned ham becomes a spammette.

I think the mini is undeniable cute from the tip of his button nose to the last curl of his pink tail. And spammette also has a little pocket  which could hold a lucky penny.

And if that isn’t enough for you this piggie can be knit in cotton and become a tubbie buddie. I tried out a bunch of cotton yarns and came up with a stuffing that will dry out quicker and made a medium sized pig whose pocket can hold a bar a soap and be used in the bath tub. I know there are sayings that imply pigs are dirty like- wallowing in mud or calling a dirty room a pig stye but pigs are actually pretty clean creatures and I think they make a wonderful tubbie buddie.

Now I never was much for the color pink but after knitting(and loving) so many pink pigs I find myself  eyeballng the pink selections when I am at the yarn store and a couple of pink selections have found their way home to reside in my stash.

SO… I think I will also have a drawing for a kit for a piggie complete with its own feed sack project bag.

So bring on the heat…………I am going to sit in the shade with a cool drink and knit on creatures this month.

4 Comments

  1. lkstimeling said,

    July 2, 2012 at 12:19 am

    Love the pigs and your eye photo reminds me of the countdown to the movie The Host! Will look into your project, too!

    • whatzitknitz said,

      July 2, 2012 at 1:27 pm

      Thank you! I had a lot of fun making pigs this winter.
      I hope you do join us and make a toy to donate.
      And remember even though charity knitting has its own rewards I will give a pattern to every one that donates a toy.And I am thinking that I will need to have a prize drawing too.

  2. MissKitty said,

    December 31, 2012 at 4:28 pm

    I make Monsters for my Nephew that hands them out to hte kids in need. He is a deputy sheriff. He asked who he should give them to I told him his heart will tell him.
    Love your pigs. My Hubie eats Spam for some reason and Spammette would be perfect..

    • whatzitknitz said,

      January 2, 2013 at 3:55 pm

      My husband and niece have a spam habit also. Spam appears regularly on our table for breakfast.
      I loved making up the spammettes and made several to give away.


Leave a Reply

