Playing with your knits

I love to play with my knitting and have always had trouble just following a pattern exactly. My mind seems to wander as I knit and go off on all sorts of tangents. Last year when I made a toy to donate to PB&J  I set off to make up some thing that would be very simple for any one to knit. It is basically a scarf folded into uneven thirds to make a toy with a pocket. The first one was a cuddly kitten. And as I finished it my mind was already wandering off and thinking about how it could be an owl. and then a raccoon and a possum.

So I wrote up both patterns. Originally the owl was going to be a swatching owl. A toy where you could try out different stitch patterns on the pocket. Or even take swatches you had previously made and turn them into a toy. Now I find myself making all sorts of animals trying out stitch patterns and techniques that I find.

Last week I got a book in the mail and I have so many new ideas percolating. 

http://www.interweavestore.com/Knitting/Books/Pop-Knitting.html

This isn’t like some of my other stitch pattern books. It is more like Hop on Pop by Dr. Seuss

“Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the thinks you can think up if only you try!”
― Dr. Seuss

This book doesn’t spell out all the exact details of the swatch instead it is a tour   describing the basics and then showing examples.

(slithering snakes)

The bright colors entice you to grab a set of needles and play and find your own variations.

It pays homage to the simple garter stitch and brings it to life in bold colors.

(my pictures just don’t do justice to the patterns in this book)

Plain stockinette in ivory yarn turns into rich embossed fabric by using slipped stitches.

(I would love an embossed cardigan but this also would make great texture for an owl)

And bold colors turn into 60’s style pop art with holes and knitted knots.

(these are made like the flower tassels for the baby hats I made last month)

**the last swatch begs to be made into a alphabet soup blankie for a baby I think and after a month of knitting colorful toys I think I should have the perfect leftovers for soup.

I am all ready to play this month and make some very silly toys and follow the Dr. advice–

“I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells. Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living.”
― Dr. Seuss

Leave a Reply

