The tortoise doesn’t always win the race

I know I have been quiet. It is so hot here you could fry an egg on the sidewalk. Well you could if we had sidewalks. I have been hiding my head in the sand(translated– staying inside or in the shade) but I have been keeping busy.

yea- that a crochet hook all right.

I have nothing against crochet — far from it I wish I could crochet.

Sure I know the basic stitches. But I can’t read a pattern to save my life.

My finger feel like fat sausages trying to manuvere the hook in just the right way.

Should I go over or under?

Oops here comes the corner ……..I will forget to add extra stitches as I turn until I am halfway to the next corner.

Some day I must conquer the fear of the hook – because there are so many lovely things I could make. But for now I must be satisfied with plodding along and clumsily adding a finish to this shell.

And don’t tell me about the tortoise and the hare fable and how slow and steady wins the race. Because I have seen crocheters and they are speed demons with their hooks and will mow down anyone in their sights.

Don’t mind me -it is the heat talking- I have already put down the hook and picked up the needles again.Just stab it with the pointy end……….

Leave a Reply

