what the hey

So this is what was on the needles yesterday…a little while later the legs were finished and it becomes a possum. The furry bits are a fun yarn I picked up from Joann(love those 40% off coupons) – Sensations Angel Hair. It is a blend of 50% acrylic, 28% nylon and 22% wool and knits into a soft cuddly animal. I used a double strand of some finger weight yarn for the fingers. And a small ball of pink variegated yarn for the chest. I need to find another color for the nose I am not happy with either the black or the pink.

And I immediately cast on again this time with a dark brown in the same yarn.Now my original thought was to knit up some muskrat love. Cause a muskrat would be easy to do- instead of a pink tail and fingers I would use a dark brown and then embroider some large buck teeth. Now I am fond of muskrats -if they aren’t digging out our seawall- I think they are pretty cute. But I am not sure a kid would share my muskrat love. And  the needles just weren’t cooperating they had something different in mind. Sometimes the yarn just doesn’t fit the animal that you are thinking of.

So rather than fight the yarn I let it decide where to go.

well it certainly isn’t a muskrat with a tail like this. Now I have a ways to go yet. This animal needs a face put to it and I will show you that tomorrow. Right now I would like to show you my starting point.

Yeah – I know this is a cat. A soft striped tabby made with llama yarn. This is my starting point. This was the pattern I wrote up last summer after some encouragement from Mary at  Knitch  http://www.knitch.net/ . This is an easy pattern to knit – basically it is a scarf. You fold and sew the edges and add legs and tail and voila un gato. If you are a beginner you can decide whether you want to knit the legs and tails flat or move on to dp needles. A little embroidery stitches finish the face and ears. But I wanted to knit several animals for charity and even though I really liked the simple pattern  my needles and yarn begged for a change.And an owl evolved  now this is the same scarf-fy pattern but I added a twist . I decided you could build an owl from a swatch. SoI started with a swatch from a lacy sock and then knit a dragon st from B.Walker’s pattern book for the back. Add a head and pick up stitches for the chest and the body is done.  The added wings throw in a couple of short rows for shaping. One of these days I am going to grab a crochet hook and make a granny square to use for the pocket and then knit the rest.

So my possum and the animal I am knitting now is a little of the cat pattern and a little of the owl with a few short rows thrown in.

But what does any of this have to do with a possum or that brown mess of yarn that is on the needles now?

Swatch, play, look around at patterns in magazines or on the internet and start a swatch using them and see where it takes you.This is the new Noro Magazine. It is loaded with all kind of cool idea(well what else would you expect from Noro. I love this sweater and I think the mitered boxes would make a very cool monster. And it would also give me a chance to see if I liked the technique enough to do a whole sweater.These hats would make amazing texture for a body.Oh how I wish i could crochet better. I must get out my hook and practice.

But this is the technique I am going to use for the face of my animal. I am sure you recognize this — we all fell in love with the Lizard Ridge Afghan by Laura Aylor  http://knitty.com/ISSUEfall06/PATTlizardridge.html

So like they used to say on the old radio shows  tune in tomorrow and see how lizard ridge works on the face of what ever the heck I am making.

Want to win the basic  cat pattern????

you can see the pattern here   http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/kitty-kat-pocket-pal

leave a comment and tell me what you think my animal is going to be. Or what you would make with the basic cat pattern or even just say hi. I will have a drawing next Friday.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. Ashley W said,

    July 16, 2012 at 1:27 am

    My vote is an adorable raccoon!

  2. Curls & Q said,

    August 23, 2012 at 4:04 am

    So glad you visited our site. I’m having a great time visiting yours! I totally forgot that the Lizard Ridge Afghan is in my pattern folder on the computer. 😎 I TOTALLY want that tea cozy.

    A hedgehog would be a cute animal.

    • whatzitknitz said,

      August 23, 2012 at 11:29 am

      You must try lizard ridge it is fun to knit. If you are worried about the size of the project a scarf in the same pattern would be fun too.
      A hedge hog would be a fun animal to try to design as a pocket pal!


Leave a Reply

