Sheltie Shawl

This is my secret garden it is my hidden corner where I can sit and contemplate the world. My neighbor’s driveway is only 20 feet away but unless I call out a hello they don’t even know I am here. Several years ago we started a pussy willow hedge on the lot line and every year it grows taller and thicker. It has made a nice shady haven for me and the birds and one very tame chipmonk who is missing its tail(but that is another story). It is quiet corner where  I can sit and knit or work at my table. And speaking of knitting ….

Yep ….. I finished my Sheltie shawl from Anne Hanson’s Bare Naked Knitspot club . Doesn’t it look pretty draped across my chair and it isn’t even blocked yet. So  I gave it a little soak and then spread it out on the hill to dry.


AH!!! the dog days of summer – just relaxing and trying to stay cool.

Meva finds it somewhat annoying to have her beauty sleep interrupted. But she really doesn’t have to choose the exact spot where I set up to work as her nap place.

I love this shawl in all it’s naked beauty. the yarn is lovely It is 3 shades of Jared Flood’s Loft it is undyed and spun from home grown sheep. The yarn is lovely and soft and has that grabby texture that makes it wonderful for stranded knitting -which might be my next project. But it’s also just the right choice for this lace shawl.

Not content to leave well enough alone– as I knit my shawl I thought about dyeing it. The white yarn added too much contrast for my taste. So after I cast off I set up a dye pot of golden rod. Above are the yellows that I got from this pot. The first skein I threw in the pot is dark yellow and gold colored. Golden rod is very intense and vibrant. The second skien is much lighter. After 2 skeins I strained off some water to soak the shawl in a second pot. And I threw 2 skeins of indigo yarn my daughter sent me in the first pot with the flower buds and some water. I wish my camera took a better picture of the color on these blue skeins. They are blue with hints of green now and I can’t wait to ball the yarn and cast on for some socks with this surf colored yarn.

But this isn’t a post about future socks it is about my hap shawl.

I didn’t want a yellow band in my shawl but I knew I could first dye it with golden rod and then over dye it with walnut.

I have 2 buckets of walnuts that have been soaking in the shed since last fall. The first few dips in the walnut buckets yield the best and richest color I think. The first few skeins have red and oranges in the brown. Then the browns seem to get duller as the dye is used. Still brown but grayer or dull. So my solution is to dye first with yellows or orange and then over dye to get a more layered color. I loved how it turned out–it is more muted but still has a lovely contrast. I didn’t get a very dark brown -I think my walnut dye pot is almost exhausted- lucky for me I have already started picking up walnuts for this years dye pot.


This is my kind of shawl – a working shawl not too frilly and  just a little lace.

Light and airy but also wooly enough to be a warm layer just right for a midwest girl.

Now I hope you aren’t cringing over my blocking in the above picture. I needed to rinse and hang the shawl. I didn’t want to leave it on the lawn and risk Meva rolling on it. And I knew that if I spread it out on the bed and pinned it that even though I rinsed it thoroughly it was sure to leach out brown dye onto my quilt.

So yes I pinned it.

And you know what –it dried beautifully – perfect in fact. This really is a work woman shawl. I will be able to throw it over my shoulders and go and if it gets dirty a quick wash and rinse and some time in the sunshine and it will be good to go!

Now I just need to sew in 2 ends(I know only 2 ends–how smart –Anne Hanson’s instructions direct you to spit splice each time the color changed so just 2 ends ; )

Meva can’t quite understand what the big deal is. Her fur is growing out and she thinks if I would just grow some fur I wouldn’t need to worry about shawls and sweaters and could just worry about walking her.

7 Comments

  1. Peg said,

    August 11, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    Beautiful!

  2. August 20, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Looks lovely! Will be great for the shoulders on cool nights.

    • whatzitknitz said,

      August 20, 2012 at 1:02 pm

      we are already having cool mornings and evenings here — so I have been geting some use of my shawl and my new wool vest. The shawl was a wonderful mindless knit – lots of garter and then a lace pattern that is easy to memorize. And best of all I love how the yarn took to my unconvention wash and block and came out looking beautiful. this will really be a everyday shawl this winter.

  3. Persuasive said,

    August 22, 2012 at 9:16 am

    I just like the helpful info you provide to your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check once more right here frequently. I¡¯m fairly certain I¡¯ll be informed a lot of new stuff proper here! Good luck for the following!

  4. Curls & Q said,

    August 23, 2012 at 3:55 am

    Love reading your “mind excursions” on dyeing. This shawl is fabulous!

    • whatzitknitz said,

      August 23, 2012 at 11:41 am

      I reread my post After getting your comment which was fun–I had written it a few weeks ago and had forgotten how hot it was. now the mornings are chilly only 40* and the temps clump during the days to 70* so I get to we’re some of my woolie knits in the mornings 😉
      I laughed when you said “mind excursions” because retreading my post I can see my mind really flits all over as I ‘work’ or play in my garden. I buzz from one thing to another just like the busy bees going from flower to flower!

  5. October 26, 2013 at 8:38 pm

    […] Sheltie Shawl | whatzitknitz […]


Leave a Reply

