cast on

My latest knitting project.It’s a selfish project–another sweater for me. It’s the cardigan in the picture. I like the cut of the sweater and the zipper. The way the shoulder is constructed is intriguing. I can’t wait to sew it up and see how the shoulder works out.  I did change the stitch pattern cause I didn’t like knitting it. It was too fiddley and I wanted something mindless to knit.

This broken rib stitch is much better for mindless knitting and I even like the wrong side of of the patter.
While I knit I have been browsing through other leaflets and I like this red mohair set too. while I don’t think I would like it in mohair I could see myself wearing this set. Maybe I will knit the hooded dickie in mohair  and then decide if I want the sweater too or maybe I will want the set in a different yarn.

Somehow I can’t imagine wearing this sailor outfit in red and blue – – I guess I just am not Fashion forward enough ; ) I am not fond of the late 60’s and 70’s styles – maybe because that is when I grew up and I don’t want to wear the fashions from my teenage years. I guess I would rather leave all that behind.   The 80’s also don’t do much for me with the boxy sweaters and the football shoulder pads.  But I still get a kick looking at them.

The man in the leaflet underneath wearing a turtleneck is a very young Jackie Cooper. The leaflet is from the 40’s and has a lot of classic men’s styles on different movie stars I don’t even recognize. They seem to be styles that don’t age and could still be knit and worn today.

2 Comments

  1. Curls & Q said,

    August 23, 2012 at 3:32 am

    Love looking at the old pics! I agree about the fashions from my teens and early 20’s – forget the 60’s and 70;s. 😎

    • whatzitknitz said,

      August 23, 2012 at 11:57 am

      I laugh when I run across a picture of me in my ‘hippie’ days of torn jeans and tye dye shirts – my husband had curly hair that flowed down his back. Don’t get me started about bell bottoms 😉 !!!
      But the older pictures are classics and I can see myself wearing some of those. My sweater is slowly growing – I think I might have the back done tonight and be ready to start a sleeve.


Leave a Reply

