KAZOW

I have other posts partially written that just need to be finished up before adding them here but I decided I just needed to share this with you. Look at this blast of color

Have you ever seen anything so beautiful? Well I am sure you have but I am just so excited about these flowers.

They are as big as a dinner plate and spectacular. And they grew in my garden!

Sure I can grow big yellow squash flowers that are pretty amazing and large.

But these beauties are so exotic and tropical looking

That is the unbelievable part – something that  looks like this can grow in the midwest and it is a perennial–it will come back after the long cold winter. Amazing.

So can you figure out what I did when I saw the flowers?   Put them in a vase ……

of course not —   I plucked them off and squished them into a jar of water and set it in the sun to ferment…

I had to see if some of the color would dye material.

As you can see the water turned purple in the jar –very purple as it stood in the sun but alas the fabric didn’t take up the color. So after 2 weeks I added a 1/2 cup of vinegar. I also keep adding flowers as they appeared on my bush(about 20 flowers). The vinegar did the trick–the cloth did change a little.

I wouldn’t call my cloth a resounding success but I will keep experimenting with this idea.

I still had lots of color in my jar and I noticed the twine and the wool yarn I tied the fabric with took the color very well. The twine came out a deep purple and the wool a lovely dark purplish brown.

So I stuffed a skien of sock wool in the jar and left it for 2 weeks just shaking the jar and adding flowers here and there. 

So yesterday I pulled the yarn out of the jar and this is what I saw–its purple and gray and lovely. Now the yarn and the water feels rather slimey at this point and stinks like a vat of pickled vegetation but I have smelled a lot worse.

I put everything in a dye pot and set it to the side of the fire pit and let it get very warm but not boiling. The color didn’t change at all and now it is drying outside. Tomorrow after it has dried I will wash and rinse it.

*one of these days I am going to have to talk to the kids about how I can get better color picture because the color just doesn’t show in this photo. the yarn is quite a bit darker with streaks of purple and gray and a greenish gray in it. You will have to take my word it is very nice. I don’t really understand why it is so hard to capture the color on yarn

 

when my camera takes great pictures of flowers and the color is pretty accurate but the picture of my yarn look washed out and drab.

sorry for so many pictures of my big beautiful flowers but they are just so ….Kapowwww I had to share them

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. Curls & Q said,

    August 23, 2012 at 3:30 am

    Lovely! Great idea.

    • whatzitknitz said,

      August 23, 2012 at 12:02 pm

      Thanks – I love how my hobbies intersect – and my garden flows naturally into my fibers for knitting. This way in the cold months of winter I will be knitting with my ‘garden colors’ as I sit inside by the wood stove. When I knit with the bright oranges and yellows I will feel the warmth of the sun in garden with every stitch!

      • Curls & Q said,

        August 23, 2012 at 1:19 pm

        Perfect word “intersect”! I like your descriptions.


Leave a Reply

