Kazow to Ka-zing

remember Kazow….I managed to get a more accurate picture see the gray and blues and lilac

There is even a hint of green in the yarn. it is pretty — even the twine that I tied off the skein with is a brilliant purple.

This morning the skein was dry. I like to dry my yarns straight out of the dye pot with out rinsing first. I think it helps to set a darker color. When I rinse right away sometimes the color washes out too much. So I usually give it a day or so before I wash and rinse.  So you can probable guess where this is going – can’t you?

yes I washed with a mild soap and rinsed and then used a conditioner to soften the yarn and Kazow turned into Ka-zing

still very pretty but not the purple, grayish blue of the Kazow post. The actual yarn is a little darker than in this photo.

It is more of a sage green and Mr. Fish Tickler likes this one better – he wasn’t enthusiastic about the purple hues. I like this too. I had expected to get more of a grayish blue color with a hint of green but it is always hard to predict what color will emerge from the pot.  I am not sure of the scientific reasons that the yarn changed so drastically but I believe it has to do with the ph of the water when the yarn is washed..or maybe the soap. But I suspected it might change because purple and blue are hard colors to achieve. And also I did have a little trouble getting any color to adher to the wool.

for me it is kind of like the magic of an indigo pot when your yarn comes out of the vat there is only a hint of yellow to it and magically as it gets exposed to the air the yarn will turn indigo blue.  In this case my yarn turned color when it was re-emersed in water and it turned this beautiful teal color and then as I continued to rinse out the yarn it turned darker and more of a sage green. The water stayed purple as I rinsed out the vinegar smell and the bits of hibiscus flowers.

So these are the four yarns I dyed this week the lightest one is lace weight dyed with blacked-eyed Susan flowers it is a very pale celery green. I had expected more of a khaki green and am still considering over dyeing this. The darker green is my hibiscus or Ka-zing as I will think of it. I wish I had more than one skien of this sock yarn — maybe 3 would be enough for a nice sweater but since I have only one skeins will  be used for stranded knitting.  The two orange skeins of sock weight yarn are dyed with jewelweed I think this is my favorite orange of all. A girl can never have too much orange and yellow – I love to play around and over dye these colors. I have 1400 yards of worsted yarn I want to dye with jewel weed and over dye and turn into a sweater that I will be test knitting soon ; )

7 Comments

  1. Peg said,

    August 24, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    I love the color! It looks great with the jewelweed!

    • whatzitknitz said,

      August 24, 2012 at 1:53 pm

      It is a great green-isn’t it! The hibiscus are still blooming so I should be able to pick more flowers and play with them. Maybe I will find a better way to process them and keep more of the blue colors.

  2. janukke said,

    August 24, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    Great colour!
    It´s very educating and fun to read about your dyeing experiences! If there is a way to get actually blue or purple from Hibiscus that would be wonderful. 🙂 That said, the sage green you achieved is marvellous!

    • whatzitknitz said,

      August 24, 2012 at 10:09 pm

      I am always learning something new in my garden.
      Rarely do you get the color you see in a plants blossoms. But I think that is part of the fun to be surprised by Mother Nature.

  3. Curls & Q said,

    September 14, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    Very good tip about letting the yarn dry for a few days! I’m going to try that. Love your dying tips!

    • whatzitknitz said,

      September 15, 2012 at 1:48 pm

      I hope you do try some natural dyeing. I am finding that letting the yarn dry for a couple of days before rinsing is giving me darker colors. And besides it fits with my more relaxed lifestyle- dyeing one day-drying for a couple of days and then a rinse day. Dyeing would be too hard on my back if I had to fit it all in one day.

      • Curls & Q said,

        September 15, 2012 at 3:32 pm

        I definitely will. Actually have a couple of books. Just waiting until the time is right. 😎


Leave a Reply

