Scurry

My sister and I were visiting over the phone yesterday. And we both commented how busy we are. Peg and I are so busy right now in our gardens picking and thinning and trying to capture the last of the summer before the cold settle in. Peg commented how we are like squirrels hoarding nuts for the winter. She laughed and said an arial movie of her day would be quite funny- I imagine a picture from above of scurrying from point A to point B and then to C and back to A hustling to get everything in the yard done. I think my life is easier than Peg’s because I am not canning any produce this summer.

Instead of canning fruits and vegetables I have been  preserving the colors of summer in my fiber. I imbed memories of the warm days and nights into the wooly yarn that I will knit with this winter. I have several projects planned and look forward to knitting by the woodstove. Peg has also been preserving the colors of her garden. I was very excited to open a box of yarn that arrived in the mail form New Hampshire. Indigo and woad blues and a weld and woad blend  green that is out of this world. I failed with my woad experiment a few weeks ago and was thrilled to see Peg’s yarn. The colors are just beautiful. The blue from the woad is light and airy like a summer sky streaked with a film of white clouds. The indigo blue is the strong blue of a cloudless summer day-  the kind of intense, hot day where the heat wouldn’t break this summer.  The green is another of her woad blues dipped in a pot of weld- it is light, soft green- vigorous  like the new leaflets on a plant in the spring.  I quickly went to my basket of wool and pulled out skeins to pair with them.I chose the earthy colors that I love. Jewel weed is a favorite of mine with its strong clear orange tones not nearly as intense as the in your face orange of the cosmos flower. It looks great with indigo blues. A cosmos skein over dyed with the first of this years walnut dye. The orange cosmos  blends beautifully with the browns and golds of the walnuts and is gorgeous with the green weld and indigo. And  the woad paired with goldenrod toned down a bit by a gentle simmer in cosmos. Golden rod is normally an intense yellow that screams summer sunshine but I was dyeing with the exhaust from the two pots so my yarn is lighter and more golden with this combo. I tried different combos and they all look great its hard to decide what I like best. Luckily I don’t have to decide because I am packing up all this wooly goodness and shipping it to Minnesota where my sister Kathy will work her magic with it. I can’t wait to see how she decides to pair the colors.

As for me its back to the garden and scurrying  to try to get everything done. I just heard on the weather channel that there was snow at the cabin this morning. Just a few flakes mixed in with the rain that is falling. I have to hurry and stock the cupboard with yarn for the winter.

2 Comments

  1. Peg said,

    September 23, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    So happy to see this post! Just took a break from the scurrying, this time in the woods pulling some invasive bittersweet and buckthorn that might get thrown in a dye pot.! Love your words and photos, big sister!

    • whatzitknitz said,

      September 24, 2012 at 8:58 pm

      I liked your buckthorn yarn –what color do you get with bittersweet?


Leave a Reply

