Cast On Bind Off

Cast On Bind Off by Leslie Ann Bestor

 

I won this wonderful book from Weekend Knitter. It has came in so handy while I knit hats for the August charity. I never knew there were this many different cast on.

I used a different cast on for each hat I knit last month. It was a good opportunity to try some new stitches. When I learned to knit my Mom taught me to cast on with a long tail. A few years ago I learned the knitted cast on which is my current favorite.  Sometimes I get fancy on my stranded mittens and use two different colors in my cast on.

 

This book has so many more cast ons to try. And even better it explains where you might want to use each one. The photos are clear and the directions precise. The book is small enough to go into my bag and travel with me. And the spiral binding means I can lay it on the table open to the page I am using with out weighing it down to keep it open.

But thats not all the book covers binding off – so when I am done with my knit I can pick the right bind off. My bind off can match the cast on.  While this might not seem important to everyone – there are times you want to match. Each method outlined in the book tells you where you might want to use it. There are stretchy cast ons and bind offs. There are lacy ones- ribbed and temporary ones. I am going to work my way through the book and I am sure I will find myself with new favorites.

Charity hats is the perfect place to experiment with cast ons. I like to keep a project  in the car to work on when we are driving somewhere. And then there is always something in my hands while we are watching tv. The Ravelry group Itty bitty Knits sponsers a charity each month and this month is Hats for Sailors. Hats for Sailors began several years ago by a female commander who wanted to provide warm hats for every sailor under her command, she enlisted the help of her mom and the knitters/crocheters of Ravelry. Hats for Sailors continues its mission to handmade hats to entire crews one ship at a time. Currently they are trying to outfit the USS Decatur who left on an 8th month deployment in August. So tonight while I watch the Packers play I will be working on a hat for a sailor and using a new to me cast on.

5 Comments

  1. lynn said,

    September 25, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    That book looks like something I could use- yesterday I started a hat – the pattern suggested a German Twisted cast on – one that I had never heard of before- I tracked it down and tried it out and really like it- I think love that about knitting- there’s always something new to learn.

    • whatzitknitz said,

      September 25, 2012 at 12:52 pm

      I think it is amazing that no matter how long I have knitted there is always something new to learn. This book has taken me out of my usual cast on and is teaching me that depending on what I am knitting there is a proper cast on for it. One that will help the item be more comfortable and wear better. The pictures and the text are so easy to follow too. Its funny this might not have been a book I would have bought–I probable would have bought a book of patterns that I might have only knit one or two things out of and this book is going to be referenced and used all the time so it is a much better buy. It isn’t true you can’t teach an old dog new tricks- I learn something new almost every day ; )

  2. Peg said,

    September 28, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    I love the colors of these hats; I really like the garter one!

  3. September 28, 2012 at 11:54 pm

    I’m really glad you liked the book! I thought it was a really meaningful addition to my own library.

    • whatzitknitz said,

      September 29, 2012 at 1:42 pm

      I love this book and am so glad I got it from you. I have been enjoying watching you spin on your blog. I think that is going to be my next adventure.


Leave a Reply

