This morning I am up early- it is dark outside my window and the world outside is quiet. Meva (our dog) is outside stalking the yard – something woke her up(maybe a raccoon). Its nice to sit in the dark and think and have the house to myself. I used to do this when the kids were small it was the only time I had to myself before the happy chaos would start. Its a nice time for contemplating. I am thinking about what I will see today. We like to spend mid week at the cabin. It is not very far from here – about a 2 hour drive. We will travel on the backroads through little towns. For the last two weeks we have been seeing familiar fall colors. It seems to early but then I remind myself that October is almost here. We saw a white egret in a pond last week and I remember two years ago when we saw almost 20 of them in a pond getting ready for their migration. Soon we will see V s of geese flying south for the winter and hear the honking as cranes fly in formation. I wonder what I will see in the garden when I get to the cabin. Will the cold weather knocked down the flowers or will they still be struggling to produce a few more flowers before going to seed?  I am hoping to pick some golden rod to simmer over the fire but if it is too late I will settle for jewelweed. I wonder if the fishing will be good this evening. Last week it was so windy we couldn’t anchor the boat to fish. Soon it will be time to get everything ready for the winter. The boat will need to be taken out and the pier dragged up on shore. We will have to tidy up the garden so it can sleep through the cold months. And the house will have to be sealed up and the water lines drained so they don’t freeze. For now I am going to stop thinking about winter coming and enjoy the sunrise over the lake and then pack for our drive this morning.

edited to add the sun is up and the rest of the family is awake and my day has officially started with the words — “the dog has puked on the bed you need to do something with the comforter” oh well ; )

2 Comments

  1. Peg said,

    September 28, 2012 at 3:31 pm

    Poor Meva, maybe she ate what woke her up!

    • whatzitknitz said,

      September 29, 2012 at 1:45 pm

      Poor Meva but poor me too- I had to do 2 quick loads of laundry before packing and going up north.
      I still think she was sick because of the poor referee-ing in the Monday night Packer game and was showing her disgust over it. Thank goodness the NFL finally came to their senses and settled with the refs.


Leave a Reply

