Mr. Monk

My daughter has been busy – she has uploaded this pattern onto Ravelry for me.

I have to admit this is my favorite pattern of all the patterns we have written.

I know there are lots of sock monkey patterns out there in the cyberworld but what makes mine different is that there is a pocket in the front for treasures and the hands and feet have snaps.

I love the mini monk done up in leftover scraps of sock yarn – each one is a little reminder of a sock I knit up a long time ago.

But now I am running out of leftovers and I am eyeballing sock yarn that is still in the skein and I have to tell myself knit a sock first and then you can knit a monkey pal.

Monkeys are hanging from my lamp in the knitting room and tumbling from the shelves .

I have gone BANANAS over monkeys they are in every corner of the house.

I can’t stop….. they make me smile.

They are fast and easy to make. Start to finish one takes me about 6 hours or 2 evenings of watching the tv.

A few years back I dreaded sewing my knits together. I would do anything to avoid a seam. I only wanted to knit things that were in the round. Knitting toys has changed that for me. Sometimes I will knit a toy in the round but I actually have a bit more control when I sew them up afterwards. It allows me to play with the parts and position each thing just so.

I am finding myself slowing down and enjoying the sewing and talking to the animals as I finish them. When I am sewing  the personality of each toy comes out. The monkey might tell me his name while I attach his smile. Or giggle and tell me a funny joke as I search through my button jar to find the right set of eyes. As I push and pull at the fabric while needle sculpting the ears I can whisper good wishes and hopes for the kids I donate these toys too.

My toys are teaching me to enjoy finishing and this week I am going to go to the library and see if I can’t borrow a book of finishing techniques to learn more.

7 Comments

  1. Trudy Stubbs said,

    October 18, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    I have my 1st one knitted but haven’t got a clue as to what to sew to where.Maybe I need a knit a long with photos! Is anyone else out there stumped or is it just me? Trudy

    • whatzitknitz said,

      October 18, 2012 at 4:08 pm

      Oh no!! SO maybe we should do a knit along.
      I just sent Trudy some photos and a more detailed explanation but.. are others having trouble too???
      It is so hard to know what to include and what not to include in a pattern. Some people don’t like to have too much to print out. On some patterns I have included an extra page of pictures that isn’t necessary to print out. But it is always a dilemma to decide what to include. So if any one else is having problems please let me know. Or let me know if you would like to do a knit along…it is always fun to be in a KAL and do a pattern together….and I could always use another monkey or two ; )

    • whatzitknitz said,

      October 22, 2012 at 11:21 am

      Well I have waited and watched if anyone else was having problems sewing Mr. Monk.
      Finally I asked some other people with the pattern and thankfully this was an isolated problem. Whew, it is always a concern for me that my directions are clear and easy to follow.
      I am glad there is the Internet — it is very nice to be able to respond to a question so quickly and to send photos and additional information.

  2. Jen said,

    October 21, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    I LOVE these !!!! I think I’ll have to make a few soon !

    • whatzitknitz said,

      October 23, 2012 at 2:40 pm

      Glad you like my little monkeys!! I hope you do knit a few I would love to see them.

  3. baamekniits said,

    November 12, 2012 at 3:42 am

    Hooray I am going back over your posts and I found the monkeys!! I have to make some of these…thank you for the pattern, I love him 🙂

    • whatzitknitz said,

      November 12, 2012 at 3:57 pm

      yea for monkeys …. I know there are other sock monkeys out there but I am quite in love with these little guys. I really love all the acrobatic tricks they do when I snap their hands and feet together. I have a whole circus of monkeys hanging in the window in my office.
      thank you for getting the pattern.


Leave a Reply

