Short rowing

it doesn’t look like much here but it is coming along nicely. it’s flat knitting I can finish a body in a couple of hoursafter stitching up the body I pick up stitches for the ears.

 

I am loving the rich colors of this yarn.

 

it looks so velvet-y ….the colors of this yarn are so woodsy and wonderful….perfect for this little mini. The yarn is Tippy Toes from Interlacement Yarns and the color way is Canyon Lands Plus.

once the stitches are picked up I work on mini short rows. I must say I like short rows for shaping. I love to play with short rows to see what it does to a flat piece of knit fabric. The results add an extra dimension. Did you notice I found some short short double point needles to work with? They are only 5″ long – I found them in a basket of vintage needles at the thrift store.

Learning and practicing short rows on a toy perfects your technique for when you want to add it to a sweater. I have a couple of cardigans picked out that I want to shape with short rows to better fit me. What better than a swatch that you turn into a stuffed animal for learning what a short row will do.Look at the way short rows make a perky ear on these fox.

4 Comments

  1. peg said,

    November 11, 2012 at 12:11 am

    These guys have loads of personality!

    • whatzitknitz said,

      November 12, 2012 at 4:10 pm

      Thanks Peggy…I keep making these over and over. they are so much fun and I get such a bang out of the way short rows fold over and create such a perky ear.

  2. baamekniits said,

    November 12, 2012 at 3:54 am

    I love him, hope you release him to Ravelry too 🙂

    • whatzitknitz said,

      November 12, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      I have a skulk of fox sitting on my window sill now. I think there were 9 at the last count. I know a couple disappeared while I was designing them and now reside in other peoples homes. if all goes well I should have a pattern soon but until then I will just keep showing little snippets here and there.


Leave a Reply

